All Girls Go to Heaven by Mint Green| Album Review

Mint Green’s debut album displays their modern take on indie-rock/emo-pop nostalgia.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
7 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

The artwork to Mint Green’s debut album All Girls Go to Heaven. (Photo from Genius)

I first got into Mint Green’s music through their 2018 E.P. Headspace. I enjoyed their brand of punchy indie rock alongside Ronnica’s smooth yet strong vocal delivery made for a fantastic listen. The Boston-native band recorded their debut record, All Girls Go to Heaven, in Nashville. A large batch of the tracks were written in 2021 before the recording of the album.

“When we were originally pitching to labels we had six demos. And out of the six demos four of them are on the album. And out of those four, two are from 2017–2018. So technically we had to write eight new songs starting in February and be ready to record them in June of that same year, 2021.” — Ronnica via WERS 88.9 FM (2022)

Although the sound is slightly more polished, Mint Green maintains their trademark bite. The sound seems to reflect the title as they edge into the realms of dream pop on several of the album’s tracks.

Against the Grain” drifts us sweetly into the album. Ronnica’s voice runs smoothly between the gentle hum of synths and summery acoustic guitar. Her words challenge us to break out of the mold and free ourselves from the stifling place we’ve been too comfortable with, “When was the last time you went against thе grain?/ You always take the blame/ I still rеmember the look upon your face/ When you learned that things would stay the same.” You could view this from two perspectives, either as a mantra to oneself or a gentle reminder to someone close that they have much more to give.

The artwork to the lead single “Body Language” from All Girls Go to Heaven. (Photo from Genius)

The lead single “Body Language” takes the dreamy sound that opened the album and gives it a punchy pop-rock varnish. Their luminous sound brings out the sense of love that Ronnica aches over. Her fear of losing someone who means so much to her due to her offputting attitude rings strongly in her delivery, “You are to me something I wish I could be/ When you make me feel like I’m not just crazy/ You promised me despite/ everything you’ve seen, you won’t leave/ You are to me something I wish I could be/ I’ve been thinking ‘bout my body language/ And the way I always seem to make excuses.” I love the way the entire essence of this song feels youthful and almost nostalgic. Hearing the emotions and tone of this piece brings back the complicated feelings that your late teens accost you with.

The official music video to “Body Language” directed by Carla Troconis.
The artwork to the single “What I’m Feeling” from All Girls Go to Heaven. (Photo from Genius)

What I’m Feeling” bubbles with the sunny sound of indie-rock. Its warmth radiates out of the band’s live sound. Coming off of the worry surrounding the prior song, Ronnica’s voice takes a more passionate tone as she seeks to know every aspect of her lover: “I wanna go to your childhood home/ I wanna know where you go when you wanna be all alone/ I wanna know where you had your first kiss/ I wanna know what it’s like to be missed.” There is an innocence to both the song’s structure and her voice that perfectly demonstrates the earnest nature of young love.

Make Me Stay” is much more in the realm of dream-pop. Ronnica’s guitar work reminds me quite a bit of Soccer Mommy’s poppier work on her last 3 albums. She now grapples with toxic aspects of a quickly fizzling relationship, “Can’t say I’d rather stay/ Because you make me feel like I’m falling away/ From what I could be/ If I decide I’m more than what you think of me/ I’ll be better off keeping my distance instead of risking it/ I don’t know what I’d do if you didn’t/ Walk away just like you said you…” I don’t connect with the song as much due to its brighter sound, but I do like the way Ronnica erupts at the end of the track. It lets out a lot of the frustration she had built up throughout the song.

The artwork for the single “Trying” from All Girls Go to Heaven. (Photo from Genius)

Trying” plays around the vocal textures. Ronnica’s voice opens each verse accompanied by the backing of some digital processing. Lyrically, I find the simplistic nature of the metaphors to be a little weak in capturing her need to make this relationship survive, “There’s a slight chill in the air/ I’m still just trying not to care/ You’re a bit late on your way to work/ I’m still just trying to make it work.” The B section of the song breaks us from the jaunty sound into a dreamy haze almost as if the reality of the situation has finally hit her. If the A section was a bit stronger, I think I could see myself returning to this song more.

The official music video to “Trying” directed by Haoyan of America.

The band melts into the sound of “Ready.” I love the descending guitar melody that Ronnica carries throughout the verses. This creamy edge to their indie rock sound acts to further the desperation she oozes forth. Her succinct delivery of the chorus, “I don’t want to wait for you to be ready/ I don’t want to wait for you to be gone/ I already know you want to feel steady/ I already know you don’t want to feel alone,” releases the tension in a glorious fury. This is one of my favorites from this project. Every aspect of the piece screams to be heard in the same craving way a partner clinging to the dregs of a relationship digs their nails in.

We have finally reached the end of the relationship on “Golden.” The band slowly turns up the heat to a rolling boil. Ronnica’s pain cuts free as they ascends into the chorus, “And you’re golden/ And you’re movin’ on/ I’m broken/ And it’s all my fault/ I want to know where you are again/ I want to show just how good I am/ I want to find the way to you/ I want to be kind and just be new.” How they bridge each smoldering verse into the roaring flames of the chorus makes the emotions that much more palpable. It’s another highlight from the album.

If you enjoyed Paramore’s “Ain’t It Fun”, then you thoroughly enjoy “Whatever Happens.” The way the band kicks into the dancy groove is infectious. This upbeat vibe holds us up as we wash our hands clean of the stains of this relationship, “My hands are clean/ I’ve washed them extra hard/ We are part of the machine/ I’m thinking that you don’t wanna be.” The best part of the song comes with the punch Ronnica unleashes in the outro. Her anger stikes loose with her need to just feel the emotions that have been locked up and finally break free.

(We) Should Have Spoken” gives us a stronger taste of the emo-pop that has been sprinkled throughout the record. I love that Tiffany’s bass line is so prominently displayed throughout the song. It brings out the sense of resentment that Ronnica bites down on. Her words speak to her sense of disgust over her ex’s inability to admit their wrongdoings, “Was I wrong to trust you and not me for way too long?/ I can’t tell if leaving was all that could have been done/ When will you wake up/ And finally say that you’re wrong/ You’re wrong.” If you’re wanting scratch that nostalgic emo itch, give this song a listen.

A promotional photo of Mint Green. (Photo from )

We come full circle on the final track “Ringtone.” The band returns to the milkier indie-rock sound that opened the album. Ronnica’s emotions have her hopeful that one day her ex will reach back out to rekindle the flame, “One day you’ll be calling me/ Saying I’m the one that you want/ Don’t stop calling me/ ’Cause you’re the only one that I want.” I like how the sound fully rounds out the album by taking us back to where we started. It echos the sentiment of wanting to begin anew.

My favorite aspect of this album comes in the punchy delivery the band brings to each song. Their pop-forward approach to indie-rock takes me right back to high school in the mid-2000s. What takes me out of the record is some of the overly simplistic lyricism on a few of the tracks. I also wish there was a little more depth to their sunny sound. I think that would add another layer to Ronnica’s tale of complicated relationships. If you are a fan of bands like Paramore or the early works of Fall Out Boy, then this album will quench your thirst nicely.

My overall thoughts on All Girls Go to Heaven:

Loved it: “Body Language”, “What I’m Feeling”, “Ready”, Golden” & “Whatever Happens

Liked it: “Against the Grain”, “(We) Should Have Spoken” & “Ringtone

Disliked it: “Make Me Stay” & “Trying

My overall rating: 6.5 out of 10.

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.