Artist Spotlight: Gbeke

An interview with the up-and-coming R&B artist

Josh Herring
Modern Music Analysis

--

Nigerian-American R&B artist, Gbeke Omodara

TW: mentions of sexual assault and suicide

Meet Gbeke, an up-and-coming Nigerian-American R&B artist, looking to make a difference. Speaking on important themes such as love, women empowerment, mental health, and sexual assault, Gbeke seeks to change the stigma around these topics and normalize the human reaction and consequences of each scenario. This leads to a visceral and personal approach to their music that you can find relief in, having shared similar experiences.

This is most apparent in her leading project, R.A.P.E. The EP speaks on the realities of sexual assault and highlights the stigma around it. This includes the downplaying of the crime, the victim blaming, slut-shaming, and the mental health aspect as a result. Far too often, women are subjected to sexual assault and left to suffer in silence. The abuser is often of power and has the ability to face zero consequences for their actions. As such, this leads to victims being fearful of coming forward and pinpointing said abuser. Gbeke tackles this subject head-on, candidly, in her EP.

The EP is bold in its approach to touchy subjects. It’s hard to dance around the subject matter in a project of this magnitude, as a result, Gbeke plows forward in this approach. At the same time, the songs are catchy and akin to the classic R&B sound, combined with heavy trap beats that make for great production value. There is also a slight African influence (blues, jazz, and swing influences), which can be credited to the artist’s Nigerian ties. Despite its subject manner, it’ll have you bobbing your head. You can find the full project by clicking here!

I got the chance to interview the artist on who she is as a person, their latest project (“R.A.P.E.”), and their motivation as an artist. You can tell she oozes empathy and sincerity, qualities you don’t find often enough. You can find the full interview below:

Who exactly is Gbeke?

There are so many words I could use to describe myself, but I think the best phrase that fits me is ‘a work in progress.’ I used to think greatness was something one worked towards and achieved then that was it. Now that I’m wiser, I realize that no matter how great one is, there is always room to grow and improve. I am constantly striving to not only become a better artist, but a better me. This means recognizing not only my strengths such as creativity, drive, and courage, but leveraging my weaknesses as well. I am a force to be reckoned with not just because of the characteristics I already possess, but also because of my God-given, unlimited potential.

What motivated you to create music?

My coming into music is such a special story to me. When I was 5, my family and I were spending quality time together looking for something to watch on TV. There was a storm going on and we didn’t have cable, so our options were fairly limited. Luckily, we found a music program titled ‘Disco Ball,’ which featured artists including Usher, KC and the Sunshine Band, and Mýa, who performed disco tributes. I was in awe of each rendition, and I told myself that one day, I would be on stage doing the same. Additionally, my dad had a heavy influence on my musical interest due to his vast collection of oldies records. I learned songs by Mariah Carey, Janet Jackson, and Alicia Keys and performed them at family functions and talent shows. From there, I began writing music and the rest is history.

Do you use music as a form of catharsis to move on from your past experiences?

In eighth grade, I started dealing with depression and anxiety, and music became my outlet. This is truly when my music goals shifted from wanting to perform onstage and be famous, to wanting to make a change and impact history. I realized that I could tell my story to encourage and help others, and that’s what keeps me going. I fully intend on healing the world through my music.

Who is your “R.A.P.E.” project for?

Initially, I wrote R.A.P.E. as a means of escape for myself. I have been a victim too many times, and it drove me to contemplate suicide. I was lost, angry, and thought that I would never heal. What has actually helped me heal is realizing that I am not alone. So many people, not just women, are sexually assaulted and many never speak up. I no longer feel like a victim, but a victor because I am strong and I didn’t let those experiences break me. R. A. P. E. is for every single survivor.

It’s arranged in an acronym, does it stand for something specific?

R. A. P. E. was originally supposed to stand for Rage, Acceptance, Pain, and Empathy, but I realized that after everything, all I wanted was peace. So, I changed the meaning to Rest Assured, Peace Exists. I had the idea to release a project about rape back in 2018. I wanted to talk about rape and the stigmas attached to it to inform, assure, and heal others. I wanted to be completely raw and let a side of me show that I’d never had the courage to before. I lost a friend to rape and murder in 2020, and this pushed me to speak up. Sexual assault leads to struggles with self-image, shame, grief, suicide, victim blaming, and slut shaming; the list goes on. However, this project is more than just expressing anger and pain. It’s about letting go, letting God, saying my piece and making peace.

If you could leave a message to all of the victims of sexual assault, what would it be?

My message to all survivors of sexual assault is that there are better days, and healing is possible. You are not alone, and most importantly you are not to blame. Society wants to shame us and tell us that we can’t heal from the wounds that rape leaves behind, but God says otherwise. Peace is a promise He keeps, and I am living proof. I had to trust Him and surrender my anger, shame, and sorrow instead of searching for men to heal me. I didn’t attempt to ignore my emotions, because I believe that one has to feel to heal. Everyday, I choose to give it all to God, and my life has been filled with blessings and peace ever since I made this decision. The journey towards healing is never easy, but every little step counts.

What other kind of subjects are you most interested in tackling and how?

I am most interested in tackling colorism and women empowerment by continuing to penetrate the afrobeat market. I want to make rhythmic, meaningful music that makes people dance as well as listen. This is how I intend to make an impact while still remaining relevant.

What other projects can we look forward to?

On August 27th, I am releasing my first Gospel single entitled ‘Break Me.’ It is super catchy, upbeat, and motivational. I don’t consider myself to be a traditional R&b artist not only because of my messages, but due to the fact that I tap into multiple genres as well.

Interested in more artist? Check out the MMA Local Artist Series with the links below! We can also be found on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter along with our official website!

--

--