Barton Hollow by The Civil Wars||Album Review

On yearning, devastation, and one perfect Leonard Cohen cover.

Nicole Brown
Modern Music Analysis

--

Photo by Life Of Pix from Pexels

I was at my local bookstore, The Nook, working on an article about George Michael. My table was positioned beside the checkout counter and hidden from the entrance by a floating shelf of Bestsellers. The clerk, a friendly chap named Taylor, was working that morning. We chit-chatted a little before I settled in.

My journals, notepads, and loose-leaf sheets covered every inch of the table. I was growing tired of the research, tired of falling more deeply in love with a star that was deceased. My grief was becoming a thing.

Then, all of a sudden like lightning, I realized The Nook’s speakers were committing a strange act — was that a folksy/bluegrass cover of a Michael Jackson song?!? I rolled my eyes at the nerve but soon noticed the melody was sticking to my ribs. I couldn’t stop listening. After maybe 30 seconds, I realized the cover wasn’t bad. About a minute later, I was in full-blown astonishment.

“Hey Taylor, who is this?”

“Who’s who?”

I raised my finger to the ceiling. “The music. This Billie Jean cover is amazing.”

“Oh. Hold on a sec.”

--

--