Bebe by Bebe Rexha | Album Review

Bebe Rexha’s third album misses the mark with its generic pop sound.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

--

I have to respect Bleta “Bebe” Rexha’s tenacity in the industry. She has garnered herself quite the laundry list of songwriting credits for the likes of Selena Gomez, David Guetta, and most famously Eminem for his smash featuring Rihanna “Monster”. She has also fought hard to make sure that her contributions, like that of her vocals on the David Guetta track “Hey Mama”, be accounted for. That said, I have never been a fan of her solo releases. Her music always seems to lack personality when put against other pop artist’s releases. Bebe’s music had fallen off my radar until I heard her 2022 single “I’m Good (Blue)”. She would employ David Guetta and a sample to Effiel 65’s “Blue (Da Be Dee)” to make one of the most annoying summer pop tunes in recent memory. Little did I know that this track would be a teaser for her third record, Bebe. The album is a blend of bright, albeit stereotypical, pop tunes with several features to mix things up a bit.

Bebe opens the album with “Heart Wants What It Wants”. The song has a subtle disco flair to it. It sounds like track could have been on…

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.