Can’t Get You Outta My Head | Songs/Artists That Beg You To Listen On Repeat.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
5 min readNov 28, 2021

I constantly am on the look out for new music to listen to. Throughout my journey on Spotify/Apple Music, I will find songs that I will zero in on and have to listen to again and again. I thought I would start a new series tracking some of my current favorite tracks from artists that I love. Below are 5 tracks that I think everyone should give a listen to.

Lianne La Havas — “Weird Fishes”

Radiohead created magic in 2007 with their album In Rainbows. “Arpeggi/Weird Fishes” has to be the best song off that album. It’s momentum from the snares and guitar to infectious as Thom builds the song up into full blossom. Covering such a unique and infectious track can be quite a tall order, but Lianne was more than up for the challenge. She drops the tempo and places you in this liquid realm of Rhodes electric piano and voices that put you in a magnificent trance. It’s a slow build to the B section of the song, but she builds that pressure like carbon dioxide in a soda can. The song fizzes and erupts in the in second half. The Rhodes is replaced with electric guitar and the tempo rushes forward as we move towards the end of the song. After my first listen, I found myself going back again and again to this track. Her self titled album, which the song comes from, is also a must listen. Check out “Can’t Fight” and “Green Papaya” while you’re jamming to this version of the Radiohead classic a listen.

Pokey LaFarge — “Fuck Me Up”

I love the throwback sound that Pokey takes in his work. His 2019 album, Rock Bottom Rhapsody is a masterful blend of Doo Wop, Americana, Ragtime and Blues music. “Fuck Me Up” has to be one of my favorites off the album. As soon as you hear it’s beat, you want to start toe tapping. Pokey is here to tell you that he ain’t as innocent as some may think. He’s down to the end of his rope and ready to say “Fuck it, if there ain’t no turning back I might as well feel good in this dark spot”. The chorus chants the lines “Fuck Me Up” as he goes over some of the things he wants to take part in. It was a real challenge to pick a favorite off this album, but I always go back to it. I highly recommend “Bluebird” and “Lucky Sometimes” off the album as well. You won’t be disappointed.

Sad13 — “Ghost (of a Good Time)”

I was introduced to Sad13’s music through her band, Speedy Ortiz. The alt rock sound of the band is something I naturally gravitated to. Sad13’s solo work is much more alt pop oriented. Her latest album, Haunted Painting, was a treat to listen to. It’s quirky and bright while still containing an edge that makes it one of a kind. The biggest highlight, and newest addition to my playlist, is the bubbly electric “Ghost (of a Good Time)”. The chorus will surely be stuck in your head after hearing it once. “WTD?” and “The Crow” are two other golden earworms that add some of Sad13’s alt rock flair to the mix. This song revives the ghost for sure and will have you dancing in your headphones.

Shamir — “Hell”

Shamir had come up on my radar before with their more electronic based music. Shamir’s 2020 album, Cataclysm, takes on a much more alternative/indie rock sound of the 2000s. Of all the tracks on the album “Hell” stands out as the best. The crunchy electric guitar and drums thrusts you forward as Shamir takes on vocal styling that reminds me of the more punk work of Santigold. The album as a whole takes on the genre wonderfully. If “Hell” is the jumping point, “Stain” and “Feminine Man” should be the next tracks you explore. You will definitely be revisiting this track more than once.

BADBADNOTGOOD — “In Your Eyes” (feat. Charlotte Day Wilson)

I found out about BADBADNOTGOOD through TikTok. After listening to their fantastic collaboration with Ghostface Killah, I knew I had to check out their solo work. IV is a goregous mix of jazz, hip-hop, and electronic influences. My favorite has to be the throwback sound of “In Your Eyes” featuring Charlotte Day Wilson. The jazzy sound and mixing of her vocals take you back to the Mid Twentieth Century. The only thing missing is the crackle of an old vinyl record to give this a true period sound. I love this project and keep coming back to this song every time I pull up this album. Check out “Confession, Pt. 2” (feat. Colin Stetson) and “Hyssop of Love” (feat. Mick Jenkins) as well. Trust me, this song and album go down as smooth as your favorite liquor.

Please give these artists a listen and let me know of any favorites you find off these albums. Below are links to their Bandcamp pages to give them support and maybe pick yourself a physical copy of these awesome projects. I will be back next week with 5 more tracks that I just can’t get outta my head.

Bandcamp Links:

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.