Disco Sleaze by Michael Medrano | Song Review

Dance/Pop musician Michael Medrano is back to get sleazy in the disco.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
2 min readJan 24, 2023

--

The artwork to Michael Medrano’s latest single “Disco Sleaze”.

I got tuned into Michael Medrano’s music via a playlist of queer new music to listen to on Spotify. My first taste of his work was the from the single “Personal Heaven”. It’s radio friendly pop take and dirty vibe was a bit mild, but had me interested on where his next works would take hime next. The following singles “Do Your Thing, Babe!” featuring Funk Leblanc and “Naked” captured my attention. Continuing his dirty hot vibe, the Twitter promotion for “Naked” had Michael au natural (except for a well placed drink). When I heard his latest single “Disco Sleaze” was soon to drop, I was curious to see what we would get.

First thing I have to say is I love the 80s mall funk that permeates in the background of the track. I get full neon lights and smoke filled bar room vibes. As the title suggests, you get good helping of salacious vibes coming from Medrano. Michael has crafted a raunchy persona found in many a straight bar, but made for a gay club: “Get your back off the wall/ Dance with me on the bar/ Caught you staring from the stall/ What you- what you waitin’ for?” The accompanying Twitter promotion (again with just barely the right about of coverage in the genital department) perfectly coincides with the vibes he’s putting out sonically. The half sung/half spoken verses blend well into the chorus. I definitely see this song being a hit with the club scene. It’s been interesting watching Medrano’s progression with each single release. If you’re looking for something naughty, queer, and funky, I think you’ll enjoy his latest release.

My overall rating: 7.0 out of 10.0.

The official lyric video to “Disco Sleaze”.

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.