DOA by ericdoa | Album Review

An eclectic blend of pop-rock and digicore from the 21-year old producer

Mark Chinapen
Modern Music Analysis
3 min readJan 25, 2024

--

Listen to DOA: Apple Music | Spotify

Thanks to TikTok I have yet another artist on my radar. A few weeks ago I was put on to Genesis Owusu, and now I’ve been introduced to ericdoa. His 2-hour long freestyle he streamed recently is what caught my eye, but he’s a lot more than just being responsible for birthing 2024’s latest meme. ericdoa’s been making music for the last few years, even producing songs for HBO’s Euphoria and the multiplayer shooter Valorant. This sudden discovery was made all the more exciting when I found out he was dropping a mixtape this month, the perfect opportunity to hear Eric outside of being just a meme and getting a chance to listen to him in a more serious light.

DOA sees Eric blend elements of pop-rock into his glitchy soundscapes of hyperpop and digicore. Opting for more rhythmic tunes as opposed to blown bass bangers of previous releases. Despite a lack of memorable songwriting, DOA is a catchy mixtape from the 21-year old producer.

Production-wise, I was expecting something more akin to groups like 100 gecs, but I was surprised when I found it this was much more in line with alternative and rock music. Mind you it’s still very much experimental in the sense, as Eric includes various nuances to make each song wholly unique. As is the case with “lastjune”. Its initial build-up as a rock-oriented track gets juxtaposed during the chorus, with trap-like drums and booming bass. A majority of the album is more streamlined and to the point such as the groovy “Dancinwithsomebawdy”. When eric dials down the hyperpoppy, glitchy affair and focuses solely on catchy melodies and straightforward production, the album shines.

As a vocalist, ericdoa knows how to capture your attention with his singing. Considering he can make Ninja getting a low taper fade sound as good as it does (when it has no reason to) is more than enough proof that he’s an excellent singer. His vocal runs on “sweet tooth” are infectious, and his croons on the chorus are a real earworm. He has that pop-punk inflection in his voice and it works incredibly well with the overall production of each song. Often he manipulates his voice, as in “arm and a leg” where he shifts the pitch and filters it. He harmonizes with himself on ‘kickstand”, making the chorus sound hypnotizing.

When it comes to lyricism though, DOA is a bit lacking. I find that artists in a similar vein to ericdoa are more interested in catchy melodies and rhythms, as opposed to meaningful content. That’s not to say that Eric doesn’t offer some solid songwriting now and again. Album opener “the cake is a lie” references the video game Portal, where a situation is manipulated and deceived by Eric or another party. “imcoolimgoodimstraight” opts for some feel-good, uplifting vibes that fit with the song’s shoegaze-inspired production. The rest of the album sees Eric discuss feelings of emotions and love but, nothing much else that I would deem memorable, to be honest.

What DOA lacks in songwriting it makes up for in its production, which I think might be the biggest takeaway from ericdoa’s latest album. It’s meant more for the TikTok crowd to use as sounds for videos and short bursts of fleeting entertainment, as opposed to an audience such as myself looking for something more longing and impactful. DOA is a catchy album nonetheless, with a few tracks I can see myself returning to, but nothing quite extraordinary.

I’m giving DOA a 6/10. I think how you feel about hyperpop and digicore is going to affect how much you might like and bode with DOA. I still think it’s worth a listen for the production alone, but I wouldn’t go into this with any overtly high expectations.

Final Rating: 6/10

Favourite Tracks: the cake is a lie, dancinwithsomebawdy, lastjune, imcoolimgoodimstraight.

--

--

Mark Chinapen
Modern Music Analysis

I like to pretend I’m a critic. Writer of all things music and sobriety related. Writer and editor for Modern Music Analysis