Girl With No Face by Allie X | Album Review

Nick Eustis
Modern Music Analysis
4 min readMar 8, 2024

--

The third album from the Canadian indie pop star approaches high-energy electropop from her own unique, sensitive angle.

Credit: Marcus Cooper, Twin Music, AWAL

As a crazed fan of RuPaul’s Drag Race, one of my flimsy mental justifications for my obsession is that I learn about new artists, queer icons, fashionistas, and especially musicians from the show’s many challenges and lipsyncs.

It was on an episode of Drag Race Canada that I was introduced to Ontario pop star Alexandra Hughes, aka Allie X. She served as guest judge and the bottom two queens lipsynced for their lives to her song “Hello” (check it out here if you haven’t seen it, the dolls put on quite a show).

Needless to say, this piqued my interest in this artist who I hadn’t heard of prior, and put her on my review radar. And now, her third album Girl With No Face has hit the shelves, so I thought there’s no better time than now to dive into Ms. Hughes’ body of work. What I found is an artist who is plugged in: to the latest electropop sounds, to her fan base, and to the cultural zeitgeist.

One thing I’ll say out the gate is that Girl With No Face truly comes out swinging at the start. The first five tracks on this record are all stellar in their own way, starting with “Weird World,” a thumping dance-pop number with delightfully odd synth tones mixed in. Usually, I’d find…

--

--

Nick Eustis
Modern Music Analysis

Musician and journalist with a passion for critique. Will be reviewing the latest in new music regularly. Always down to listen to something interesting!