How This Album Made Me Who I Am Today

The personal impact of Joey Bada$$’s sophomore album, All-Amerikkkan Bada$$

Josh Herring
Modern Music Analysis

--

Source: Genius.com

4 years ago, Joey Bada$$ released a (personally) life-changing album. The timing of this album is pivotal for me, as it came out right as I was approaching my senior year of high school. In my opinion, this album is a certified classic and will continue to age beautifully as it inspires the youth. With some of the most difficult subject matters to talk about, Joey Bada$$ sends a very loud message in his sophomore album. From police brutality to reparations, the black plight in America comes to the forefront. What’s almost heart-breaking looking back at it, is that every single theme is still relevant in this point in time, and almost prophetic at times. Read on to see how this album, essentially, radicalized me.

I had known about Joey Bada$$ for years now (from a verse in the infamous posse song, 1Train), but I never really bothered to give him a listen. It wasn’t until I heard, probably, the most recognizable song on the album — “Devastated”. The catchy chorus interpolated with the swift, adjunct bars created an addicting sound that pulled me into the orbit that was Joey Bada$$. Upon further inspection, the entirety of All-Amerikkkan Bada$$ was stockpiled with the verses of adversity.

--

--