I Don’t Dream Anymore EP by Logan Ledger | Album Review

Ledger’s debut EP showcases his pension for retro country and folk-rock sounds.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
4 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

Logan Ledger’s inspiration rings clearly through his music. As a young child, Ledger was turned on to the music of Elvis Presley, Roy Orbison, and Bob Dylan. This, along with a thirst for retro country and folk, has left a lasting impact on Logan’s sound. His 2019 EP, I Don’t Dream Anymore, brings these flavors together to create a rich mixture of country-western and folk-rock tunes. Though his influences may shine brightly, each track brings something unique that keeps his work distinguishable from mere imitators.

Logan opens the project with the beachy country western of “Invisible Blue.” His clean, husky vocals grab me in the same way k.d. Lang’s languorous style does. Ledger plays with the metaphor of the color blue relating to sorrow. I find his expression of the complexities of depression to be very poignant, “It don’t cast a shadow and it don’t make a sound/ But it weighs down your heart and it tears at your soul/ Tell me, how can a color make you feel so cold?/ It’s a shade you can see clear through/ Invisible blue.” Logan is quite effective through the simplicity of his songwriting here. If you loved the creamy textures of Lang’s Inguenué, then you’ll thoroughly enjoy this track.

The titular track, “I Don’t Dream Anymore, " burns slightly brighter. His rock-oriented sound takes me back to the late 60s/early 70s. Ledger’s worble works especially well through the vintage rock lens that coats the underlying instruments. We continue the themes of depression and hopelessness as Logan laments on his current state, “I’ve lost the will to try/ This worthless lullaby/ Its melody won’t fly me past oblivion/ I bet it would be nice/ To find that paradise.” I get a lot of Roy Orbison in the way Logan tackles his vocals. What sells me the most on this track is how easily he can take us back in time sonically.

Oh, Sister” brings in fellow singer/songwriter Courtney Marie Andrews. The duo’s sway calls back to the sound of the Everly Brothers. There is an overarching biblical tone to it. I get the theme of the pain of estrangement from a loved one, “Oh, sister, when I come to lie in your arms/ You should not treat me like a stranger… Oh, sister, am I not a brother to you/ And one deserving of affection?/ And is our purpose not the same on this earth/ To love and follow His direction?” Their words ask for forgiveness as it is the Christian way. I do find the way these themes are explored through this religious lens to be hard to connect with, especially with the familial undertones.

The final song, “Darkness, Darkness,” is a country-rock reinvention of The Youngbloods original. Its brooding electric guitar builds tension through the static-coated air. Ledger’s version brings out the depth of the sense of being consumed by sorrows that threaten to absorb you completely. You can hear his resolve in this situation when he sings, “Darkness, darkness, be my blanket/ Cover me with the endless night/ Take away the pain of knowing/ Fill the emptiness of right now.” This cover completely fits with this collection of songs and is a fitting close to the retro meets modern Americana sound that Logan effortlessly exudes.

Logan’s ability to capture the sounds of the late ‘60s country-western and ‘70s folk rock while keeping it fresh makes for a wonderful journey. My favorite moments come when he lights a fire under these pastel rock and roll jams. His husky, languorous vocals bring so much emotion to the words he writes. My only hang-up comes with the lyrical content of “Oh, Sister.” Because of it’s familial nature, it gives a bit of an unsettling vibe. I love the retro style that Ledger is steeped in. If you love the sounds of Roy Orbison, k.d. Lang, or the more country stylings of Elvis Presley, then you’ll be right at home with this EP.

My overall thoughts on the I Don’t Dream Anymore EP:

Loved it: “I Don’t Dream Anymore”, “Darkness, Darkness

Liked it: “Invisible Blue”, “Oh, Sister” (feat. Courtney Marie Andrews)

Disliked it: None

My overall rating: 7.5 out of 10.

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.