In My World by Matthewdavid | Album Review

Matthewdavid’s sophomore release further hones his ambient electronic sound.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
6 min readJan 26, 2024

--

The album artwork to Matthewdavid’s 2014 album In My World. (Photo from Bandcamp)

As I have stated in my blog before, I am always on the lookout for something that calls out to me. I try to bring my headphones with me while I go record shopping to get an idea of what the record is, and this was how I stumbled upon the 2014 release of ambient/experimental electronic artist Matthewdavid. Record producer and musician Matthew David McQueen (who goes by moniker Matthewdavid) got his start with music in his teens taking piano lessons. It would be an internship with Plug Research and Dublab that would jump-start his career in the music industry. This opportunity to move out to Los Angeles began his work as at radio stations and as a talent scout. It also allowed Matthew to get into the LA hip-hop scene that had sparked his interest back at the University of Tallahassee. In 2008, McQueen started up his record label Leaving Records which garnered the likes of Julia Holter, Diva, and Deantoni Parks. It would be under this label that McQueen would begin to release his work. His sophomore album In My World, released in 2014, continues to display his aptitude for milky electronic music with a hip-hop edge.

The title track and album opener, “In My World”, would be the lead single of this project. McQueen’s influence from the hip-hop scene shines through the way he cuts and samples The Independents’ “In the Valley of My World” (which the song takes its title from). His production creates these ripples in sound that cast over you like the warm ocean waves. It’s both aquatic and psychedelic.

The official music video to “In My World” directed by Miko Revereza.

Matthew coats “Cosmic Caller” with a hypnotic ocean of sultry sounds. The best aspects of the song come in the epp and flow of drum beats intermittently radiating through your ears. McQueen’s pension for trippy production floods the listener with an array of electronics and vocal delays that begin to muddy the color palette that he is trying to work with. Because of this sensory overload, I have a hard time remaining in the meditative state that he seems to reach for as he lets us know we can call on him in our time of need.

We immediately melt into the more EDM-coded flavors of “The Mood Right Now.” Aspects of its hip-hop beat, atmospheric samples, and mellow vibe act as a sort of precursor to the rise of chill-hop that has become prevalent in the late 2010s and early 2020s. Matthew’s signature psychedelic production brings a fizz to the mix that is extremely quenching to the ears. The bits of vocoded and slowed vocals swirl around you like petals in the breeze. I easily found myself getting lost in the soundscape he created on this track.

Perpetual Moon Moods” splices The Mary Jane Girls’ “All Night Long” through a web of trance-like trip-hop textures. The way McQueen tackles the marching beat of this piece reminds me of some of my favorite Chemical Brothers tracks. I love the way the hook brings the sample into everything. The ASMR-like whisper of “Give it to you” tickles the ears in such a nice way. I vastly prefer this sensual blend of retro EDM, hip-hop, and ambient flavors over his prior experiment on “Comic Caller.”

House of Horus” flutters with the constant bubble of beats. All the aspects of each sound feel like the constant massage of jacuzzi jets from underwater. Each momentary sample takes on a gelatinous form as it pulls and melts into the concoction Matthew has created. I also appreciate how intense some of the beats come across in the mix. I get a sense of a fast-paced urban sprawl through the electricity that runs throughout this track.

Next to You Always” relaxes the energy through the shimmer of chimes and lush keys underlying the beats. This is the first track that McQueen has worked his own rapped verses into the fold. While his flow smoothly glides across the production, something about his attitude is a bit too flowery to match the pace that he takes each bar. His urge to take his partner to a sense of eternal bliss doesn’t come through as rich and passionate in his delivery. It falls a bit flat for me.

McQueen brings back some of the more transcendental qualities in “Artforms.” The hip-hop beat gives fervor to the bright blue melody of the guitar and accordion samples. His use of claps and more organic production make for a truly meditative experience. I love how the song builds up to spill out in a dance of synths and vocals that cocoon you in light. It’s probably my favorite use of this sound.

Singing Flats” crackles. Matthew’s mesmerizing astronomical synth tones jump to life under the jitter of beats. This instrumental piece displays a nice range of techniques. You get the bright, sweet flavors of EDM, the soft effervescence of trance, and the punch of hip-hop all in one. Each of these comes together in a way that complements the other entirely. Another excellent track to put on and get lost in.

West Coast Jungle Juke” samples the chaotic release of drums from The Winstons’ “Amen, Brother.” Once the sample hits, you are sent roaring forth in an electric stream of sound. McQueen’s synth adds another layer of funk that further commands its listeners to lose themselves in the deluge. I love the pure EDM edge that ignites in the song’s second half. It’s alive with movement.

The final song on the record, “Birds in Flight”, brings in the Light of Love Children’s Choir. When I saw this feature on the track, I wasn’t sure how it would sound in Matthew’s otherworldly production. Their vocals exist as rays of light that come and go in the background. I appreciated the woodwind samples that give an earthy surface to jump from. McQueen’s vocals are much more in the forefront letting us know that we are ready to take flight without worry. It may not be my favorite, but I do like how Matthew brought everything together in this closing piece.

You can tell McQueen is a student of hip-hop production. His use of beats shows his ability to mix samples to make something dazzling. McQueen’s use of vocal delay and radiating filters is his signature. Every song on this album felt like a psychedelic aquatic adventure of sound. At times, this became a bit too overwhelming (like on “Cosmic Caller”). I also found his rapping to not pack quite the punch I was looking for. My biggest takeaway from this record was how nicely I was able to get lost in the atmosphere he was able to create on the more atmospheric pieces. Also, it’s so nice how every song flows into the next. It’s stellar. If you are looking for a creative EDM project that you can melt into, give this a listen.

My overall thoughts on In My World:

Loved it: “The Mood Right Now”, “Perpetual Moon Moods”, “Artforms”, “Singing Flats” & “West Coast Jungle Juke

Liked it: “In My World”, “House of Horus”, “Birds in Flight” (feat. Light of Love Children’s Choir)

Disliked it: “Cosmic Caller” & “Next to You Always

My overall rating: 6.5 out of 10.

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.