Lonely is the Muse by Halsey | Single Review

Halsey’s 3rd Lead Single Reaches An Absolute Upper Echelon

Yegor Mirnov
Modern Music Analysis
3 min readAug 18, 2024

--

LISTEN TO “Lonely is the Muse”: APPLE MUSIC | SPOTIFY

Halsey is an American singer, songwriter singer, and actress who is set to give us her new album later in 2024, and with a few singles already here, the feelings are mixed.

Truthfully, I had little knowledge of Halsey until my friend, who is keen on pop music, brought her to my attention, and her art did not impress me. I found Maniac annoying, and her previous works generic, however, her latest LP has a different place in my heart.

If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power is Halsey’s 4th studio album that immerses you in a completely different side of her art.

By exploring a different side of alternative rock, the artist addressed that rockstar persona that Halsey always wanted to be. This record completely changed my mind about who she is, an artist and performer. However, with a new roll-out around the corner, I’m confused.

Halsey has dropped already 3 singles, and all 3 of them are completely different. Halsey’s first single, “The End,” showcases her heartfelt and vulnerable side, with the addition of an acoustic guitar that brings to mind folk music. With the second single “Lucky”, you are in for the pop track that I am not a big fan of.

On those tracks, you get Halsey, who steps away from the improvement that you saw on her previous record and comes back to the generic side of her name. However, this friday, Halsey showed that you should never count her out.

“Lonely is the Muse” is the most radical, dark, and gothic side of Halsey. It is dark, vicious, and addictive as a drug.

All of Halsey’s inspirations from dark grunge rock are complimentary to everything you get here. This track truly showcases the immense power of Halsey’s inner beast, a side of her that she seldomly reveals. However, when she does, the result is nothing short of brilliance.

Her delivery doesn’t sound corny, or forced, it sounds the way it should: raw and emotional. Halsey puts incredible curation and dynamic behind the track, that works. Her lyricism and direction slightly remind me of some stuff from Deftones, so I strongly look forward to what Halsey could express and share with us.

Although, I am genuinely perplexed by the direction this album is taking. The variety of soundscapes and intricacies unveiled on this record are quite concerning. This is either going to be the most inconsistent and adorable sonic echelon of Halsey’s career or simply mediocre music all around.

Source: Halsey | Youtube

It has been 3 years since her last record, and if we are getting the improved version of If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power, then ladies & gentlemen, we might get an album of the year contender.

I’ve spent enough time with this track to realize that this is incredibly addictive and phenomenal. I don’t see any drawback in it. This is a 10.

FINAL RATING: 10/10 ( PERFECT )

Scores guideline:

0–2 (dramatically bad)

2.1–4.5 (bad)

4.6–6 (mediocre/mid)

6.1–6.9 (Ok)

7–7.5 (good)

7.6–8.6 (great)

8.7–9.9 (amazing)

10 (perfect)

--

--

Yegor Mirnov
Modern Music Analysis

25 k Views Writer | Writer for The Riff and Modern Music Publication | Niches: Music, Self-Help, Education, Student Life.