LosT by Bring Me The Horizon | Song Review

The U.K. metal band continues their foray into pop-punk with their latest single

Mark Chinapen
Modern Music Analysis
2 min readMay 5, 2023

--

Listen to LosT by Bring Me The Horizon: Apple Music | Spotify

Bring Me The Horizon returns for their annual song release with “LosT”. Their latest single for their upcoming album (or EP?) in their Post Human series of projects. The UK band has been drip-feeding fans with one new single per year since 2021. Starting with “DiE4U”, and most recently last year’s “sTraNgeRs”.

In a similar fashion to the previously released songs, “LosT” continues the band’s trend of catering to a more pop-punk, emo sound while still retaining its trademark edge. Structurally “LosT” feels very akin to something that My Chemical Romance would produce. Most notably in its rah-rah, sing-a-long chorus. “LosT” builds on the band’s style of blending heavy metal with more electronic/EDM elements, along with a dash of pop on the side. This new song is by far one of the band’s most upbeat records to date.

Lyrically lead singer Oli Sykes is focused on his mental health and self-image. Despite the song’s happy nature, the content is the complete opposite. Making reference to his Ketamine addiction, and providing some very concerning, albeit tongue-in-cheek lines (“The next time that I open up to someone will be my autopsy.”). The chorus has Oli question why he is the way he is, his singing is quite euphoric and echoes something that many who struggle also ask themselves. Coming to the conclusion that he may very well be lost. In a way, it offers some sort of reassurance that he’ll be okay, and maybe he’s happy with his flaws.

Overall I will say out of the 3 singles BMTH has dropped since 2021, I find “LosT” to be the better out of the trio. I think they’ve really nailed the whole emo, 2000s vibe with this new song quite well. Lyrically its subject matter, while dark, is also quite cathartic in a sense. Whether or not this (and the other 2 singles) will fully characterize the sound of their next album is debatable. I for one wouldn’t be too upset with that, especially with this new release.

For my final rating, I’m giving “LosT” a solid 8/10. As I said previously, I believe Bring Me The Horizon has finally found that sweet spot between their usual style and the pop-punk they began experimenting with in 2021. I’m excited to see what happens next with the band, fingers crossed we get an album release date very soon.

Final rating: 8/10.

--

--

Mark Chinapen
Modern Music Analysis

I like to pretend I’m a critic. Writer of all things music and sobriety related. Writer and editor for Modern Music Analysis