MMA Local Artist Series Pt. 4

Cory Brown from Warner Robins, GA

Josh Herring
Modern Music Analysis

--

“Harvest in Provence” by Van Gogh is inspiration for Brown’s newest single

Hello and welcome back to another installation of MMA’s Local Artist Series. In this segment, I will be highlighting Cory Brown and his newest single “Harvest in Provence”. But first, as always, here is a quote from the artist on the inspiration for the song and his motivation behind it:

“‘Harvest in Provence’ is named after the Van Gogh art piece and so is every song on the upcoming album “self portrait”. This song is about finding peace in the midst of the storm. I freestyled his raw emotions on this track in order to express how I was feeling. I choose the title Harvest in Provence because Van Gogh’s painting was very symbolic to how I grew up on the countryside, also his thick strokes on this canvas are very similar to the way my voice colors tracks. The poem on the end isn’t just me speaking to the listener but me speaking to myself. Barri B’s silk smooth vocals compliments my more aggressive verses to give the audience a feel of how life is to him at that moment in time. […] Honestly when I made this song I felt like the sea from the outside view, it’s calm but underneath, rocky and violent. There was a lot going on but people who don’t know me always think I’m fine. But at the same time frustrations are obsolete; I had to take time to breathe in the midst of my storms.”

In addition to being a talented artist, Cory is also a talented poet as mentioned in the quote and takes place in the last few seconds of the song. Furthermore, the artist has been featured on the radio namely 107.9 The Beat, a radio show based in South Georgia. This up and coming artist may soon take the national radio waves by storm with hyper-analytical bars on introspection and observation of the universe.

The voracious bars from Cory takes us into his psyche and reveal the frustrations that come from numerous sources that being young in a capitalistic world provides. The tenacity is countered by Barri’s soothing chorus, which seems to be the opposing force needed to balance the song. If you look at the painting by van Gogh, you can really see the inspiration that the painting provided the artist. There’s a certain nuance to the way one can express the countryside. Also, be on the lookout for his upcoming album, self portrait. It is sure to be an introspective marvel.

The definition of a creative, Brown is multifaceted in his expression. This includes music, spoken word performances, written poetry, and even a hint at modeling and photography. As the last artist (Larry Thomas Jr.) and the next one I will be highlighting, we all went to the same high school. I saw first-hand the ability and talent each of these artist have, I’ve always expected greatness. So should you! You can find Cory’s “Harvest in Provence” by clicking here or below.

Thank you for reading this far! Check out more on the Local Artist Series with the link below:

--

--