MMA Local Artist Series pt. 5

Mishael from Warner Robins, GA

Josh Herring
Modern Music Analysis

--

Cover for Mishael’s single, Patience

Welcome to another addition of the Modern Music Analysis Local Artist Series! This time I will be covering an old friend of mine, Mishael. While not I won’t be covering an album, Mishael has appeared on albums with another artist I’ve previously featured in the Local Artist Series , Larry Thomas Jr. — you can find more about Larry by clicking here. This edition of the Local Artist Series will likely be the last (from my hometown at least), unless requested otherwise. Here’s a little more from the artist, directly from the source:

“Hey all! My name is Mishael and I am a local musician in the Warner Robins Area. I sing & song-write, and I occasionally produce instrumentals from scratch as a music self-learning technique. My most recent song, Patience, is an upbeat R&B/Soul style that was written by me and produced by my good friend, Larry Thomas Jr., who is a local rapper, producer, and owner of the Music Label “Team Crazy Kids LLC”. My sound is inspired by all genres, ranging from Pop to R&B to Rock, and what motivates me as an artist is expressing my emotions through song. Making music that others can relate to and/or understand allows connections to be made between people from all over the world, and that in itself inspires me to continue writing and singing.”

For as long as I’ve know Mishael, she’s been an excellent singer. Being a winner of multiple talent shows and front runner for choruses, the artist’s exuberance has always been showcased. You can see mostly gospel, R&B, and pop influence in Mishael’s music. You can hear hints of artist such as Brandy, Ciara, and Janet Jackson. “Patience” is a more lowkey kind of song that is filled with the strong voice of the artist and a simple snap element mixed with a funky guitar strum. The production is simplex, yet well executed and allows for a melodic creativity throughout the song.

The song itself harps on the importance of patience. However difficult it may seem at times, keeping patience in times of turmoil and indecision can create that pinnacle moment of realization. Evident in this song is reliance on faith in maintaining said patience — a sort of God’s plan kind of expectation. While the artist doesn’t know what is going to happen or when, they believe the key is remaining patient. Surely, Mishael will get everything she wants with that attitude.

With a limited catalogue available, it’s hard to grasp the ability of the artist, if you don’t know them personally (like I do). However, Mishael has the ability to raise the roof on any building and pull your heart strings on the same track. Working alongside Larry Thomas Jr., these artist are making our hometown (and high school) proud!

Give her latest single, “Patience”, a listen and find out for yourself. You can find the track below:

--

--