Morning Matters EP by Yasmin Lacey | Album Review

Yasmin Lacey combines introspection and self-affirmation to bring warmth to her 3rd EP.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
5 min readSep 29, 2023

--

The album artwork to Yasmin Lacey’s 2020 EP Morning Matters. (Photo from Genius)

Nottingham-based R&B singer Yasmin Lacey got her start playing acoustic gigs back in the early 2010s. This process helped her to form the band that works with her known as The Running Circle. In the following years, she would release several EPs that would display her sound. For her third EP, Lacey focused more on words of affirmation that came about from a more positive mindset. She goes into more detail about how this place of healing inspired this EP in her On The Jungle Floor interview:

“I think after I did my first two EPs, I was healing and I started to feel better, and in that whole process of Morning Matters, I dedicated that EP to anybody who struggles to get up in the morning because in that time, between those two EPs, I know I did. Writing it was my way of getting back up again, do you know what I mean? I think I’ve got into this process as well, which was choosing what song to play in the morning the night before, and that really set me up for the day. It’s a bit of like a morning mantra, talking myself through it, asking myself if I’m okay inside — that kinda stuff.” — Yasmin Lacey via On The Jungle Floor (2023)

We open the album on the smooth soulful sounds of “Own Your Own”. Lacey’s rich vocals come together beautifully with the soft amber tones of electric guitar and keys. The percussive claps and soft beats give the piece a groove while allowing it to maintain an airiness. Yasmin’s words act as an affirmation to keep your shine in light of the challenges and hardships that come your way, “Tell me you are right inside/ Are you feeling right inside?/ Own your Own (Own your own, Own your own).” Everything swirls together to make for a comforting experience that caresses you like a floral spring breeze. It’s a lovely start to this release.

The artwork to the title track and single “Morning Matters”. (Photo from Genius)

The single “Morning Matters” brings out a jazzier vibe through the huskier bass line and trumpets. Yazmin’s heavier vocals only bolster the velvety texture of this late-night jam. Continuing with her uplifting themes, Lacey points out the importance of reflection and rest on prior troubles. The morning allows her to take into perspective the blessings she has, something which she calls out in the second verse: “After rest I know what I need/ Such a truth that only I see/ I got those who know and love me/ Clarity is in my bedroom.” I quite like the sentiment behind this song. Its nocturnal sounds and thought-provoking lyrics are a great mix to close a day out on. I also really liked the jazzy presentation she gave the song.

Lately (Interlude)” brings in some live drums to brighten up her sound. The sonic theme of psychedelic soul still swirls around the background of this track giving it the warmth and milkiness of coffee and cream. Yasmin kicks herself for the harsh treatment she’s given her lover. The biting retorts and time away have deepened her longing for them making her all the more desperate to make amends, “Lately I’ve been deeping this shit baby and your the one who makes it feel like home/ And I’m sorry/ Yes, I’m sorry/ I think it has something to do with the lovе I’ve been shown… Latеly, I have wanted to come home/ And I feel like/ Oh oh I feel like/ (Home).” She melts away halfway through the song while the drums really shine over the other instrumentation. I quite like this change in focus.

Morning Sunrise” has a bit more of a groove to it. The guitars mirror Yasmin’s vocal melody as the drum kit provides a lovely head-bobbing beat. The effects on the guitars give everything a warm silky texture that washes over you. The song has a sort of sister sentiment to the title track. Lacey relishes in the beauty of a new day and the many gifts that it has to bring, “Hello, morning, you look good, good to me/ Kissing the sky, I can feel it move me/ But on my own I will share this morning/ Kiss the sunrise with my eyes.” We even get a little psychedelic rock guitar work towards the back end of the song bringing something special to the track.

The artwork to the single “Not Today Mate” off the Morning Matters EP. (Photo from Genius)

We close the EP with the neo-soul sound of “Not Today Mate”. I love the reverb that the Rhodes radiates. I get a little Erykah Badu from the way Yasmin flows throughout the track. She pushes back against the negativity coming from at her from someone near here, “You don’t do me right/ Stuck somewhere in your ego/ Too far to feel the light/ At my expense, you regrow/ Bad feeling when you’re close to me/ Like you’re drawing down my energy/ You have got to leave.” As with the other songs on this EP, Lacey keeps herself and her mental health at the forefront reminding us to release toxicity in our lives (here it happens to be in the form of an old friend, family member, or lover). It’s a luscious and wonderful way to close out this project.

I was very pleased by the overall positivity that Yasmin espouses on this project. Instead of biting words, she takes a very introspective look into her actions and the blessings she has to put things into perspective. This marries wonderfully with the smooth jazz-inspired soul that underlines each of the songs here. Songs like “Own Your Own” and “Morning Matters” are great mantras to put on to cool the flames of frustration and anger. I can’t say there are any skips present on this EP. If you are in the market for some uplifting soul music, this is definitely a project you should give a try. My overall breakdown of the Morning Matters EP:

Loved it: “Own Your Own”, “Morning Matters” & “Not Today Mate

Liked it: “Lately (Interlude)” & “Morning Sunrise

Disliked it: None

My overall rating: 8.0 out of 10

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.