Necromancer EP by Jett Holden | Album Review

Holden’s debut EP exhibits the power his raw grit can bring to his passionate messages.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
5 min readMar 1, 2024

--

The artwork to Jett Holden’s debut EP Necromancer. (Photo from Apple Music)

Jett Holden’s sound has evolved from his love of folk and country music. His love affair with the genres began back in grammar school as he began to find music that suited his tastes and voice. Growing up in a Jehovah’s Witness home, Holden found it increasingly difficult to reconcile his religious beliefs with his sexuality. In speaking with Country Queer, he hopes his music will provide an outlet for others in similar circumstances to feel a little less isolated:

“I grew up in a Jehovah’s Witness family. My grandfather was an elder, and a lot of my youth was shaped by that faith. So when I realized I was gay, I went through a lot of turmoil reconciling my beliefs with my identity. It was a very lonely experience. I hope my music speaks to those who feel silenced by their religions, their families, or their communities. Hopefully, it helps them feel less alone.” — Jett Holden via Country Queer (2021)

The title track, “Necromancer,” sees Holden chastising himself for not leaving a bad relationship dead. His anger over going back to ultimately end up in the same place he was to start with rings clear through the forceful blaze he puts forth vocally. Jett was inspired to pen the piece after a conversation with a friend whose partner still attempts to reach out to them after they had cut them off:

“‘Necromancer’ was a song I wrote about letting go of an on-again, off-again relationship. I got the idea for it when a friend of mine tried to end a relationship with his boyfriend. He explained that his partner was dead to him, but they still tried to reach out to him through social media after their phone number was blocked. My friend responded with, ‘I wasn’t aware dead people could speak!’ From that, I carved out the bridge of the song, then flushed out the rest of it. — Jett Holden via Country Queer (2021)

I do wish that some of the grit was taken down a notch as it completely overpowers his backing guitar. His approach is similar to that of Michael Trotter Jr. of The War and Treaty. I think if the song had some of the control that their sound does it could be bombastic. That said, the raw nature of his performance does bring out his burning frustration.

The artwork to the single “Taxidermy” from the Necromancer EP. (Photo from Bandcamp)

Taxidermy” is one of Holden’s most poignant messages from this release. In the ever-present specter of racism, homophobia, and xenophobia that continues to infiltrate all corners of our society, Jett’s words challenge his listeners to move past their performative activism. Holden discusses this further in his interview with Country Queer:

“‘Taxidermy’ came out of a frustration with the lack of action to rectify what was happening in our nation in regard to police brutality and racism in our nation. It was seen beyond Black lives, however. Asian hate crimes have risen. LGBTQ people were experiencing their own injustices as well. And women continue to go underrepresented. It was beginning to feel like we were being told that the solutions we were being offered were to just get over it. To comply with authority until they decide that we’re actually free or equal. It’s been a frustrating journey in this industry because a lot of the hate and discrimination has been swept under the rug. The support from the Americana community has been refreshing, though. There were several panels at AmericanaFest this year exploring the experiences of BIPOC and LGBTQ members of the industry, and the changes needed. Artists like Brandi Carlie, Allison Russell, Amythyst Kish, and so many others are finally being recognized. I just hope country” — Jett Holden via Country Queer (2021)

His sullen yet passionate vocals cry out for those to finally rise and take action against the injustices persecuted against POC and LGBTQIA+ communities, “I’ll believe that my life matters to you / When I’m more than taxidermy for your Facebook wall / They say the best songs are three chords and the truth / Until that truth requires you to heed the call… I’ll believe that my life matters to you / When the bible’s not a tool you use to crucify / They say the best songs are three chords and the truth / Until that truth and your belief systems don’t quite align.” I love how his sense of urgency marries the pain that echoes through this guitar and the backing strings.

Jett ends the project with a unique country-western cover of The Spice Girls’ hit “Say You’ll Be There.” Through the dark bluesy lens he puts the song in you get a greater sense of desperation over whether the promise of love will be returned. Compared to the bright, pop sound of the original, Holden’s moody soundscape exchanges the sass for frustration as he sings, “If you put two and two together/ You will see what our friendship is for, oh/ If you can’t work this equation/ Then I guess I’ll have to show you the door/ There is no need to say you love me/ It would be better left unsaid.” I have to say I was impressed to hear how he was able to completely transform such a recognizable track.

The promotional image of Jett Holden. (Photo by Gabriel Barreto)

I am pleased to see another queer voice in country music. Holden brings a raw quality that calls back to the many blues influences in the genre. “Taxidermy” eloquently demonstrates his skill at writing a powerful message. I also loved his spin on The Spice Girls hit “Say You’ll Be There.” I never would have thought that the track could sound work under a country lens, but Jett’s darker transformation paints it in an entirely new light. The title track didn’t connect with me as much due to its raw nature. This may very well be a difference in taste and I fully realize that his raspy growl brings a lot of emotion to the story of holding on to the corpse of a relationship. I am happy to see Holden garner attention in the Black Opry scene and hope to hear his sound develop even more in the future.

My overall thoughts on Jett Holden’s Necromancer EP:

Loved it: “Taxidermy” & “Say You’ll Be There

Liked it: “Necromancer

Disliked it: None

My overall rating: 6.5 out of 10.

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.