Rayvn Lenae’s HYPNOS Album Mini-Review

Lush, lavender electronic soundscapes and layered vocals makes this LP a must-listen

Dara Babatope
Modern Music Analysis
2 min readJun 28, 2022

--

An image of Rayvn Lenae sitting on a lavender mat
Credit: Atlantic Records and Quil Lemons. All rights go to respective owners.

I never really dipped my hands into quirky electronic music — I actually stumbled across the song “Venom” on Instagram. It was — indeed, an experience.

I went straight into the album. It has a unique incorporation of neo-soul, R&B and the feeling of kicking back on your couch whilst talking to someone you like, which is pretty magical. I never regretted the time I spent listening to this LP. It’s a modern yet playful record that floats within the atmosphere of relaxation.

The vocals on this album are immersive and impressive, reminds me a lot of Solange and Janet Jackson. Let’s not forget the instrumentals and producers. Funky, layered synths and psychedelic electronic chords bouncing from one place to another. When I saw the Steve Lacy feature, I just knew I was in for a chill time. His guitar alone can seduce the ears of the common listener at once!

Each track explores love, heartbreak, pity in a slow-burn manner. You can find her asking questions such as:

Why do you play me for a fool?

The relationships are described from the viewpoint of a twenty-year-old, but these situations are, in truth, grounded in realism. The lighthearted, level-headed approach is captivating, making this album daring and bittersweet majority of the time.

It’s Lenae’s delivery, confidence, and allure that set HYPNOS apart, not just the topics she covers. As she contemplates her fears, hopes, and doubts, she shows just how ready she is for her own turn as she reveres the musical icons before her.

I haven’t listened to her previous EP, so I’ll check that out and give it a review as soon as possible.

I give this an 8.9 out of 10.

Music is subjective, so I’d love to hear what you think in the comments!

--

--