The Current State of Modern Music Analysis

Sharing some thoughts on where I think MMA stands at this moment + call for feedback

Josh Herring
Modern Music Analysis

--

2022 has been one hell of a year for music. Several handfuls of big name artists have dropped major projects this year, most of which have been promptly covered and analyzed by MMA. We still generate a solid amount traffic with an admittedly limited social media presence (more on that later) and I appreciate each and every story that has been submitted this year. I wanted to sit down and reflect on the status of Modern Music Analysis and where the publication stands after its minimization late last year.

I’m aware that it can be frustrating to submit to Modern Music Analysis and not see the kinds of views you would see with self-publishing or other music publications on Medium. As I wrap up my last semester of college, I will be paying more attention to the social media aspects of things to put more eyes on the writers and the work, which they each deserve. I will primarily be focusing on growing a Twitter audience because that is the best way to instantly share thoughts that are associated with MMA. Additionally, TikTok is of interest as it is, perhaps, the quickest way to garner widespread attention. Another underrated social media that I will be including is bopdrop, a music focused app where you can share your favorite music, much like MySpace used to.

The social media aspect for me is tough as I fluctuate from shit poster to being practically non-existent in a moment’s notice. But, if I want to make a name for MMA and its writers (and eventually, myself), I realize I have to be more open, both personally and professionally. I want MMA social media to be a go-to for all your music needs and with that, an authority on the music landscape that can rival a Pitchfork or Rolling Stone while not losing sight of our origins in music analysis and attention to music culture, especially that of marginalized communities, in modern music. Consider this a committal to refocusing on Modern Music Analysis and its readers and writers.

However, I will need help from the writers’ themselves which I will reflect in updated submission guidelines. These changes will include guidelines on formatting and a few details on how SEO should be arranged for your story. This just ensures that just posting your article will draw the eyes you deserve. I’ve learned and benefited from being extremely timely in the release of my articles — album reviews, for me, go up within the first two hours the album is released. I’ve found this is the only way to compete with other big name publications that have access to major releases much sooner than the general public. Now, I don’t expect this from every writer for every release, however, the sooner you have a review of new projects, the better. You can find some more suggestions on music journalism tips here.

I want this publication to remain informal in a way, meaning no assignments or anything will be made, but I would like content that people want to see be pumped out at a good pace. I looked into The Riff and their updated submission guidelines and I believe I will follow a similar format to allow for a constant stream of content to flow through MMA. There won’t be paywall restrictions as I believe accessibility is a huge attractor and core to the mission of MMA (and music in general), but there will be new requirements for both new and current writers that must be met to continue on with MMA.

Here’s where I could use some feedback. Ideally, I would like to have that sense of community and have MMA be a hub for music lovers that are in conversation with each other.

  • As a reader of Medium, what do you look for in publications that makes you want to interact? Do you look for things like a podcast or other forms of interaction or is it based purely on ability of the writer to convey a feel for music? What’s more important: coverage of the major projects or attention to some underground acts and maybe interviews? A mix of both? The ultimate question: what makes you follow a publication on Medium?
  • For my writers, what makes you want to submit to a particular publication? Views, vision, money, something else? How can I, as owner and editor-in-chief, serve you better and ensure your success?

I ask these things to gauge the direction that I think MMA should head in. I tend to just write, post, and leave it to sit. I want to change how viewers see the work — dynamic rather than static. If you have any questions, concerns, suggestions, anything, feel free to comment below, leave a private note, and/or email modernmusicanalysis@gmail.com.

Be sure to follow Modern Music Analysis on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and TikTok to keep up with all the latest music reviews — it’s an amazing year for music and you will want to tune in for a more focused MMA!

--

--