The Half Record EP by Hannah Dasher | Album Review

Hannah Dasher’s debut EP shows this fun lovin’ country girl’s got the chops to make it in Music City.

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
5 min readJun 3, 2023

--

I had seen many of ad spots on TikTok with Hannah Dasher for Fender guitars. These promotions, plus her lovable country aesthetic, made me interested in hearing what Dasher had released. Hannah had already made a splash with her cooking series on TikTok called “Stand By Your Pan” (a nod to one of her favorites Tammy Wynette). Her success in the music business had been a long time coming. After graduating from the University of Georgia with a degree in Journalism and Music Business, she would get a job at Bass Pro shop aiming to transfer to the Nashville’s Opry Mills location (which is right beside the Grand Ole Opry). Her break came from a gig at the Whiskey Jam. From here she co-wrote songs for artists like Brad Paisley and Lainey Wilson. Dasher’s own work is now on display for all to hear.

The album opens on the incredibly catchy “Leave This Bar”. The song is a delightfully smooth modern country track. Hannah’s vocals provide just enough attitude to give the track a sultry vibe. I love warm yet dramatic tone that the backing instruments give. It’s electric yet warm. This subtle rock vibe pairs well with Dasher’s words highlighting the sexual tension building in this bar. Her chorus brings to mind the hot and heavy vibe of a rowdy night at a country dive bar, “And the beer’s real cold, thе band sounds good/ Everything feels like a Friday night should/ Got drinks in the air, we’re dancin’ in the dark/ And everybody’s lookin’ for a reason to leave this bar.” While more of a slight country rocker with a pop edge, I loved the entire vibe Hannah brought with this song.

The artwork to the single “Left Right” off of The Half Record EP. (Photo from Genius)

The lead single off the EP, “Left Right”, is a wake up call to all those who play the hot and cold game with their significant other. This song gives me a little more 90s/2000s country in its presentation. Dasher’s vocals against the more traditional country toe tapping rocker brings to mind artists like Wynnona Judd , Sugarland, or Miranda Lambert. Hannah told The Boot the following around the writing process for the song:

“‘Left Right’ was one of the latter, though she’s only had that kind of experience a few times in her life… The lyrics just came right along with the melody; I just regurgitated what I was catching out of the sky… When they fall out of the sky … you don’t have to work as hard for those. I think you just — for me, personally, I just have allow myself to be the creative vessel through which it flows, and I just have to catch it.”

Doser’s clever lyricism around the left right themes wonderfully display how this man’s back and forth behavior will leave him in the cold, “A girl like that don’t wait forever/ She’s a good one, boy, get your shit together/ If you want it, you better put a ring on her left right now/ Said if you want it, you better put a ring on her left right now.” I really enjoyed the tongue-in-cheek nature she takes with this subject matter.

You’re Gonna Love Me” gives me a lot more of a Miranda Lambert vibe with the matter of fact take on how she presents herself. This is yet another country toe-tapper with the rock edge. Hannah points out her proclivity to early Alan Jackson, smoking when she drinks, speaking her mind, and supporting American made products. The chorus, “I’m a bad mamma-jamma/ Fresh out of Savannah… No, I ain’t for everybody but I don’t try to be/ If you like the sound of that/ You’re gonna love me,” pinpoints if this sounds like something you like then you’re gonna love her. While I’m not the target audience for some of this more “traditional” southern perspective, I can’t deny that it’s a catchy country number.

The official music video to “You’re Gonna Love Me” directed by

Hannah goes a more modern pop country route with “Shoes”. I could easily hear Little Big Town taking on this song. It’s got the right amount of weight to play towards Dasher’s need to fix this mess she’s made of this relationship. That said, her passion also comes through both sonically and lyrically in the track’s chorus, “But if I was in your shoes/ I’d put that pedal on the floor… I wouldn’t bring up why we broke up/ We’d just make up in the sheets/ If I was in your shoes, baby/ I’d come runnin’ back to me.” This is another song I could hear myself easily returning to. It’s slick presentation has just the right amount of grit and personality to really sell its subject matter nicely.

The official music video to “Shoes” directed by
The artwork to the single “Girls Call the Shots” off of The Half Record EP. (Photo from Genius)

The final track on the EP, “Girls Call the Shots”, plays to the power women have over men. She goes a bit more acoustic on this closer. This is another track that I could hear Miranda Lambert fans enjoying as Hannah matches this vibe here. Each verse displays how all these men’s actions have less to do with them and more to to with attracting a mate. Doser’s chorus nails down the secret men don’t want to admit yet she knows all too well, “Like a guy on the dance floor that don’t like dancin’/ He’ll two-step all night/ For one kiss goodbye/ One more tip so the band won’t stop/ Guys buy the drinks, girls call the shots.” Personally, I feel the more lax acoustic treatment doesn’t really match the subject matter that she sings on. While I think her more rock oriented take on the track would sell it better, I don’t think it’s worthy of a skip.

I really enjoyed the overall vibe that Hannah puts forth on this EP. She really showed decent amount of versatility between modern pop country and more traditional honky-tonk country rock. Dasher’s attitude really makes her stand out. I can both hear her songwriting prowess and solo potential through this album. I think if you are a fan of artists like Little Big Town, early Kacey Musgraves, or Miranda Lambert then you’ll really enjoy what Hannah has to offer. My overall thoughts on this EP:

Loved it: “Leave This Bar”, “Left Right”, “Shoes

Liked it: “You’re Gonna Love Me”, “Girls Call the Shots

Disliked it: None

My overall rating: 8.0 out of 10.

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.