The Hidden Meaning of Celeste’s Hauntingly Beautiful Ballad “Strange”

At its surface, “Strange” is about a break up. But, if you dig deeper into the track, there’s much more to be revealed.

Nia Simone McLeod
Modern Music Analysis

--

Photo by Keira Burton from Pexels

Analyzing lyrics is like unwrapping a present. Hidden themes, figurative language, and storylines are revealed that you may not have caught on first listen.

Since fellow Medium writer Maria Garcia and I share a love of music, we have decided to create a mini-series on lyric analysis.

First, we’ve recommended a song to each other. Then, we each create a post deep-diving into the lyrics of the song we’ve been given.

Maria has recommended Celeste’s break up ballad “Strange”. Let’s uncover its hidden meanings — together!

Analyzing the lyrics of “Strange”

The song begins from a place of hope, “I tried for you / Tried to see through all the smoke and dirt / It wouldn’t move / What could I do?”

The singer reminisces over how connected they were in the past, but realizes things have changed, “I touch your head to pull your thoughts into my head / But now I can’t.”

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
Modern Music Analysis

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome