Valerie June — Stay/Stay Meditation/You and I Single (Review)

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis
3 min readMay 10, 2021
Valerie June’s single “Stay/Stay Meditation/You and I” released October 2020

About 3 years ago, I discovered Nashville’s Roots Radio 89.5 as I was working at my previous job. My husband turned me onto older country music, and I found myself attracted Americana and Folk music more and more. Today’s country music is really just pop music in cowboy boots with a Bud Lite in hand. As I was listening to Nashville’s Roots radio, they played a unique voiced woman by the name of Valerie June. The song, from her then recent record The Order of Time, was “Got Soul”. I found her voice to be rather polarizing at the time. It was too unique and off putting to listen to. I wrote her off and kept on listening to whatever came on the radio at the time. Miss June kept popping up in my social media feeds, through other Americana artists or various folk based groups. I am a fan of Joanna Newsom, who shares a similar vocal sound to Valerie. I found this single on iTunes the other day and thought I should check it out. What are my thoughts?

The single opens with the song “Stay”. It has a strong gospel vibe with its piano opening and hum of synth and guitar in the background. Valerie sings on a relationship at a crossroads. She conjures up imagery of a woman sitting with her partner talking on the past, but unsure of what the future might bring for their relationship next. Valerie is an excellent songwriter. The tone of the song really gives this story an almost warm bittersweet feeling.

“Stay Meditation” is an extremely short interlude between songs, at 54 seconds long. It’s a soft mix of flute, chimes, bells, and warm synth humming in the background. It really is a meditative sound.

“You and I” is the last song on the single. I love Valerie’s upper register in this song. Again, this song has a gospel influence to it along with Valerie’s folk sound. The song hums along with its verses about a two friends turned lovers who separated for a bit, but whose passion for one another has grown stronger over time from their distance. The chorus soars with Valerie calling “I hope you feel it, I hope you feel it too… You and I”. This song is honestly my favorite off this single. I find myself revisiting several times.

I was very wrong about Valerie June. She is a fantastic songwriter and musician. Her unique sound marries very well with many influences (folk, country, blues, and gospel). I will most definitely check out her new album The Moon And Stars: Prescriptions For Dreamers that came out this year. I highly recommend giving Valerie a listen. I also have to give love to a very talented Tennessee girl (from Jackson, TN).

Valerie June’s full length album The Moon and Stars: Prescriptions for Dreamers

Overall rating: 6 out of 10 meditations on staying

--

--

Z-side's Music Reviews
Modern Music Analysis

Welcome to my personal blog. This is a place where I discuss any of my musical finds or faves. Drop in and have a listen.