Von dutch by Charli XCX | Single Review

British pop-star brings originality with her new lead single.

Yegor Mirnov
Modern Music Analysis
2 min readMar 3, 2024

--

Source: Apple Music

LISTEN TO “Von dutch”: APPLE MUSIC / SPOTIFY

My first introduction to Charli XCX happened in the middle of 2023, while I was eagerly waiting for the UTOPIA by Travis Scott to drop. I was exploring new music, wanting to discover new genres and styles, and my search paid off when I stumbled upon Charli’s how I’m feeling now.

Her 2020 studio album, how I am feeling now, gave me a glimpse of a new sound, which I became a follower of later. An incredible mix of electro-pop and hyper-pop created an unbelievable quality on this one. Charli’s voice sounded fresh, interesting, and captivating, which made me recognize her talent. Since Charli announced her 6th studio album, BRAT, last week, I’ve decided to give her 5th studio album, Crash, a listen.

To my surprise, I didn’t find that much of what I was looking for in Crash. While Charli still showcases her incredible talent on Crash, she only occasionally embraces the hyper-pop moments, revealing her intention to distance herself from that sound. I think Crash was her step with a more aimed approach towards the mainstream.

The biggest feeling I had throughout Charli’s 6th studio album was that she was playing it safe. Giving us those generic, though captivating hooks commonly heard on radio stations. Although it seems as if she has little interest in doing so on the “Von dutch”

On the “Von dutch”, Charli gives you a hard electro-pop beat, with kicks hinting at the house sub-genre. Charli’s delivery on a fun and experimental banger sets her apart from the songs in Crash, making her sound more confident and appealing.

This step for Charli is something exciting, making me look forward to her 6th studio album BRAT.

“Von dutch” captures the same vibe that Charli was going for with how I’m feeling now, but yet introduces an unusual sound that she hasn’t incorporated earlier.

Music Video for “Von dutch”

She doesn’t have many ominous-sounding songs, with only a couple coming to mind like “Pink Diamond” and “Anthem” with its synth elements. And It’s cool to see her getting out of her comfort zone and give us more of that hard-hitting stuff.

This sound feels unfamiliar to me, considering Charli’s previous works. However, it successfully merges the most captivating aspects of her two previous works: memorable hooks and amusing production.

Well, to conclude, I find this song amazing. “Von dutch” is an absolute banger with a pocket full of interesting moments that will make you ponder about the direction Charli will take on BRAT.

I give this song a solid 8.1/10

FINAL RATING: 8.1/10 (GREAT)

Scores guideline:

0–2 (dramatically bad)

2.1–4.5 (bad)

4.6–6 (mediocre/mid)

6.1–6.9 (Ok)

7–7.5 (good)

7.6–8.6 (great)

8.7–9.9 (amazing)

10 (perfect)

--

--

Yegor Mirnov
Modern Music Analysis

* 20 k Views Writer * Writer for The Riff and Modern Music Publication * Music, Self-Help, Sport, Environment * Interested in collaborations