Because of My Kids, My Life Has Been Over for Years

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

--

Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

I’m at my wit’s end. I love my kids and can’t imagine anything happening to them. I proactively wanted to be a mother. I have a 20yo boy, 5 yo boy, 7 yo girl. Right after the girl, it was sunshine and butterflies. I went to lots of places with her in tow, still saw all my friends. Her father and I split early, which was fine. I already had plans to have another before she was 3. I didn’t want or need a man around; I wanted my kids. I felt like my age was pushing it to wait around for Mr. Right any longer.

After the second one, things changed. They got harder, and I wasn’t the picture of perfect motherhood anymore. When they were 3 and 1, I decided to go back to work full time. It was clear that my 3-year-old daughter did not want the new baby around, but I thought this was typical. Fast forward to now, and they can’t be left in the same room alone for 2 minutes, ever. They physically attack each other to the point of leaving marks and scream constantly. They both do things like hitting themselves and say they hate themselves when they’re fighting. They do it outside, in front of the neighbors, in the store; they have no shame.

They both act completely deaf when I talk and sometimes still won’t acknowledge I’m there even after I’ve gotten within 3 inches of their face and said their name 20 times. My 7-year-old purposely does the…

--

--

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

Celebrating and supporting the guardians of the next generation.