PARENTING AND LIFE

Dealing With the Sore Loser in Your Life

What you can do to nip this nasty habit in the bud

Published in
7 min readApr 24, 2021

--

Image created by Canva Pro and Courtney Burry

Playing Monopoly with my son when he was in elementary school was a nightmare. In fact, the same could be said for just about any board game. As soon as it looked like he was going to lose, he would abruptly leave. He was a sore loser. There were tears. Sometimes game pieces would go flying. His door would slam shut.

My husband and I would look at each other. It was the look that said, he must have gotten this from you. But we both knew that this was not the case. I am not a sore loser. I am competitive, and I love to win, but I know how to accept defeat. The same can be said for my husband. So, where in the world was Josh getting this from?

We figured that we just needed to expose him more to lose to get him out of his funk. So, we enrolled him in soccer.

It turns out this was a big mistake. Not only did he hate soccer, but his lack of soccer skills and subsequent losses only took his bad attitude to new levels.

As a parent, this was tough to watch. It made me wonder where we had gone wrong.

But it turns out; sore losers can be found everywhere, even amongst animals. So, if you have one in your house, know…

--

--

Sarah Courtney Burry
Modern Parent

5X top writer. I love to use satire and humor. I write about travel, politics, family, feminism, sports, health & music. So, basically everything.