How Do I Handle College Kids, Thanksgiving, and COVID?

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent
Nov 16, 2020

--

A question for the Modern Parent community:

They keep saying only to have Thanksgiving with your own household to keep from spreading COVID. My husband and I both have pre-existing conditions, which put us at a slight risk. How do I handle my college-age sons, one who is living in a dorm with 4 roommates coming home for Thanksgiving?

Even if he gets a rapid test right before he comes home, you won’t know if he just picked up the virus. I’m very nervous about this, but I can’t tell my kids not to come home for Thanksgiving. I don’t know what to do, and it’s not like any experts are addressing this.

Any thoughts on how to handle this?

--

--

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

Celebrating and supporting the guardians of the next generation.