Give the world the best of you, not what is left of you

3 actions you can take today to invest in yourself and manage stress

Christina
Published in
7 min readFeb 11, 2021

--

Photo by Carolyn V on Unsplash

I am a full-time working mom with two children, one with complex needs. Until recently, I was attending grad school, and had a 2.5 commute to work. On the surface, one might think it would be a struggle to find time for myself — I did it, so I know you can too. I am sharing how and what I learned to take care of myself and my mental health along the way, avoiding becoming an all-too-common statistic.

“In the past year, 74% of people have felt so stressed they have been overwhelmed or unable to cope.” (UK Mental Health Study)

“Nearly 8 in 10 adults (78%) say the coronavirus pandemic is a significant source of stress in their life.” (Stress in America 2020 Report)

“Canadians aged 18 to 34 were more likely to report they have felt stress regularly or all the time over the last month due to the COVID-19 pandemic.” (Canadian Adult Stress Levels Report 2020)

Significant statistics, but not surprising given the global COVID-19 pandemic. Stress is inevitable, regardless of a pandemic. And, some stress is actually beneficial. Stress can enhance cognitive function (Berkeley Research Study), boost short-term immunity (Standford Medicine Study)…

--

--

Christina
Modern Parent

Inspired by family; passionate about community. Doing what I can to make someone else's day a little brighter.