I Resent My Husband For Wanting Too Much

And I can’t help it.

Sylvia Emokpae
Published in
7 min readFeb 23, 2021

--

My husband is up at 2 AM almost every day to work.

He brings me a coffee at 5 AM so I can get up and write before our son wakes up at 6:30 AM.

He spends time with our son when he wakes up and is with us at breakfast — which he sometimes makes us while I am with Andriel. He runs to meet us at lunchtime so he can be with us for even 15 minutes before the next call.

In between meetings, he pokes his head out of his office to say hi to us. He rushes calls so he can be downstairs again for dinner and spend another 20 minutes with his son before I put him to bed.

On days that we don’t see him and he misses meals with us, he feels guilty and helps me get our son ready for bed. Day-by-day he is trying to take on more fatherly roles because he genuinely misses him. It wouldn’t surprise me if he starts putting his son to bed himself as he does for afternoon naps on weekends.

Devonte is quite happy not to leave the house during the pandemic but speaks to dozens of people during the day. His mind is ticking all day long, solving big company issues, leading teams, and creating software; while I try to force mine to think of the shopping list that needs making or the chores I need to do while simultaneously entertaining my…

--

--

Sylvia Emokpae
Modern Parent

Hustler by day, mother all the time. Inspired by normal life occurrences because, in hindsight, everything we do is interesting. Chocolate addict.