I think My Son and His Girlfriend Have Broken Up and I Need Advice

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

--

Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

My son, who just turned 18, and his girlfriend have been together since August 2019. Their relationship seems to have had very few problems and they are both good kids. I am fond of his girlfriend. She’s sweet and they both have similar interests: love spending time outside together and going on adventures and everything. It’s his first relationship, and I’m happy that it’s been a good one. She’s pretty close to our family, too. We actually had her over for dinner and to watch the Super Bowl a couple of weeks ago, and she does dance with my daughter.

Last month, my son told me that her parents were likely separating and she was going through a tough time. We talked about it and he’s been trying to help her as best he can, whether it’s giving her space or just doing something together fun to put her mind off of it. But recently, I’ve noticed something changing in my son’s behavior. Whether it’s related to his relationship or not, I don’t know and I’m not sure it’s my business. However, since our family has grown to know his girlfriend quite well and we really care about her well-being, too, it seems unusual that he barely mentions her these days. He’s been pretty quiet and not himself. My husband’s picked up on it, too.

I understand that this is not my relationship. My husband and I have tried to inquire…

--

--

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

Celebrating and supporting the guardians of the next generation.