My MIL is Overbearing and I’m Struggling to Set Boundaries for My Daughter

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

--

Photo by Hoi An Photographer on Unsplash

My daughter is the light of my life and brings so much joy to those around her. However, I am struggling to find a balance when it comes to my MIL and her involvement in my daughter’s life. Before my pregnancy, my MIL and I had a great relationship. She was supportive and loving, and I looked forward to her being a part of my daughter’s life. But once my daughter arrived, things changed.

My MIL insisted on being in the delivery room and taking care of my daughter during her first bath. Although I appreciated her help, she started to take over once we got home. She insisted on doing everything, including dressing her, changing her, bathing her, and putting her down for naps. I wanted to bond with my daughter and do these things myself, but my MIL was insistent.

When I pushed back, she started to make comments that made me feel uncomfortable. She would say things like “your daughter only wants you because she can smell the milk” or “I could raise her as my own if you let me.” She even suggested that my daughter should spend more time alone with her, and she wants to be involved in every aspect of her life.

My MIL has also made comments about our parenting style, suggesting that we are too strict when it comes to screen time. My husband and I have discussed setting…

--

--

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

Celebrating and supporting the guardians of the next generation.