Positive Parenting

Power Trips Lead to Power Struggles

Expert advice for avoiding power struggles

Modern Parent
Published in
10 min readJun 13, 2021

--

Photo by Yan Krukov from Pexels

Our son is the Prince of Power Struggles.

Seriously.

But you know what? In my day, I was the Queen.

As a child, I was what we might now politely call spirited, but back then I was simply called stubborn. I was also told I would probably be a lawyer one day because I am so good at argumentation. Spoiler alert: I did not become a lawyer, but I do still love a good debate.

My mother is thrilled to know that my son is exactly like me.

Our son loves a good debate, but even more, he loves to be right. Okay, so do I. Like any 8 year old child, he prefers to get his way — don’t we all? However, being twice exceptional adds a few more complexities into the mix.

Twice exceptional refers to children who are cognitively gifted and also have a disability. Our son has anxiety, ADHD, and a sky-high IQ. Gifted children often have what are called overexcitabilities or intensities.

--

--

Jillian Enright
Modern Parent

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.