Precious Baby Turns Into Hitting Toddler Who Loves Ripping Books

How I try to navigate through it all, inspired by dr. Laura Markham.

Adelina Vasile
Published in
7 min readApr 11, 2021

--

Photo by Iana Dmytrenko on Unsplash

When a small child can’t have something he wants, he will get upset. Really upset. So upset that hitting you might become his way of lashing out. And he will do it not just once, but as many times as you let him. All while you’re in shock. Possibly even with him laughing as you try to show him that you’re also in pain.

I, for one, was certainly in shock when my precious baby started to show attitude. From hitting the closest person to him to ripping pages out of the books that he loved, the little guy struggled with his big feelings. Big momma struggled with the little guy too.

It innocently started after he turned one

When my son was getting close to 18 months, he started to grab us by the hair when he became frustrated. Grab and hold, with no intention of ever again letting it go.

My mom, who was spending time with him while I was working from home, was particularly affected and offended by his behavior. She claimed that we (my sister and I) didn’t do that when we were little and that clearly, this “wasn’t normal.”

--

--

Adelina Vasile
Modern Parent

Mother, educator, journalist, copywriter. I write about the things I need to learn myself.