The “Blippi” Pandemic

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

--

I have no doubt that many parents by now have heard of the Kids YouTube star Blippi. The notorious man is known for pooping on someone’s face (in the past), now the entertainment for our kids. Also, if you don’t know about this, look it up. I’m not lying.

My son (3yo) is absolutely obsessed with Blippi and has been watching his content for some time, no matter how hard I try to avoid it. I thought he would get bored of it because, for a while, the YouTuber wasn’t making any new content… until of late.

Now, I’ll admit that the content isn’t “that” bad. Some videos are not that great, but he has the energy to keep kids occupied and never really seen anything alarming. However, his voice annoys me more than a whining dog. But when he starts making toys for kids, that’s where I’m drawing the line. Of course, there were some ads between his videos, so my son knows they exist and are absolutely horrible.

He even has his own stuffed doll that looks like something you would get at a dollar store. Nothing like your kid sleeping with a grown man, which I understand kids don’t understand just yet, but the concept is just horrifying as an adult.

My son’s obsession with Blippi was so bad closer to the beginning of the pandemic that he couldn’t even function without it. Which, my family at the time, which no longer exists, did not help that at…

--

--

Modern Parent Editors
Modern Parent

Celebrating and supporting the guardians of the next generation.