The Day I Traded The “S” On My Chest For The “A”.

Kennedie
Modern Parent
Published in
4 min readFeb 26, 2021

--

There is a letter A lit with bulbs next to a few potted plants on a desk in a dimly lit room by a window, no curtain, night time.
Photo by irina- Drr (Unsplash)

For many years, I was an open book to the teens that I have mentored; revealing my human side, allowing them to speak about any and every topic that crossed their inquisitive minds; giving life answers from my perspective that were true and often blunt at times. I always thought These students aren’t connected biologically and after all, I am here to give my guidance and experience to the extent being the topics of their choice mostly. So, why would I waver when expressing the same way to my children?

As I have been raising my two children single-handedly, I have always wondered how much of my life (in detail) I want to give them when they ask? Will I honestly answer questions about my past, or just provide the sides of me that I want my children to know? Til that day had arrived…

My daughter, once having several deep conversations with her teenage friends, asked me if I had a certain experience in my life. Wanting to know my answer to a specific question, she finally asked and seemed to hold her breath afterward while waiting. Before answering I knew this information would confuse and possibly shock her or even change the way she sees me from that moment on. After a bit of hesitation, she asked me, Mom, have you ever had an…. A-bortion?

What do I say now?

--

--