Unconditional Love

Teri Vaughn
Modern Parent
1 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

Photo by Fadi Xd on Unsplash

Maybe I wasn’t perfect. Perhaps things weren’t YOUR way. To me, you were a gift from above; and everything I did, I did for love.

I know it wasn’t easy for you. Your challenges began before me. From the perspective of your inner wounded child, I somehow became the enemy.

Your judgment has been painful, your betrayal even worse. But having to live without loving you would have been a bigger curse.

I don’t hold it against you. We have all done things while in pain. It’s what you continue that matters. It’s what you choose to change.

I could be bitter and angry. That’s just not who I want to be. I could hold on to this pain, but that would just cause dis-ease.

I could let your betrayal control my life, but people who truly know me know that even though life has given me hell, nothing can stop my growth.

I sincerely appreciate the lessons I’ve learned, and I will never regret loving you to the best of my ability, even when you couldn’t love me back.

I choose forgiveness today, and I will stand in this truth. No matter how you choose to target me, I will always love you.

This is unconditional.

--

--

Teri Vaughn
Modern Parent

Wife, mother, sister, niece, cousin, friend, confidant. Just trying to figure it all out.