Wake Up to The Importance of Sleep

Especially when you’re a new parent

Sylvia Emokpae
Published in
8 min readMar 19, 2021

--

Most of us understand the power of sleep, but we don’t fully exercise it. It is one of those things that we take for granted or don’t look at fixing first when there are other issues.

If we are fighting stress at work, we might not think that a good night’s sleep could help solve it. If we are having difficulties with a loved one, we would never blame bad sleep for it or depend on it to fix the relationship.

I was not affected by a lack of sleep in my teens or my early 20s, and if I was, I didn’t notice. I was young, full of energy, and my motto was “I will sleep when I’m dead.”

But in my late 20s, we had a baby, and I lost it.

Lost what, you ask?

My mind.

Through a lack of sleep.

Early Parenthood

At first, I felt groggy and hungover. I laughed it off with my husband. I was a bit tired, but nothing I couldn’t cope with. I had a tonne of good hormones running through my body that helped me fall in love with my son. Life was just delightful.

My husband went back to work and I was left to deal with the baby 24/7, with a couple of broken hours of sleep each night. After a few weeks of playing…

--

--

Sylvia Emokpae
Modern Parent

Hustler by day, mother all the time. Inspired by normal life occurrences because, in hindsight, everything we do is interesting. Chocolate addict.