When a Child Only Wants One Parent

What To Do When Your Child Doesn’t Want You (Or Only Wants You)

A. J. Gabs
Published in
5 min readDec 30, 2020

--

Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

“Moooommmmy, I’m dooooone,” my daughter’s sweet voice trails from the bathroom. “Come wipe my butt!” I particularly enjoy it when this happens during my zoom meetings for work. My colleagues laugh at my misfortune as I grudgingly get up and take care of it. If there is any question of who is in charge of a parent-child relationship, remember — you have to wipe their poop.

You may be wondering if you are in a meeting- why doesn’t your husband do it? Well, he has tried many times. If he enters the bathroom, there is usually a shriek followed by “I want Mommy!” It’s a job specially reserved for me.

So is bedtime.

So is the morning wake-up routine.

So is getting her a cup of milk.

So is getting her a snack the minute I sit back down from getting her a cup of milk.

With enough pleading and bribes, she will let him do bath time or read one of her bedtime stories.

Seriously. In the past, my husband and I had worked out a deal that he would sleep in on Saturdays, and I would wake up with the girls. On…

--

--

A. J. Gabs
Modern Parent

An avid learner of neuroscience and child development. Once a certified counselor and teacher, now a parent, IT Professional and children’s author.