Chapter 5 — I failed.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2016

Entrepreneurial Spark gave me the big N-O. I got an email earlier today pretty much confirming what I already knew when I left the interview yesterday. Still kind of stings though.

For the first time as an entrepreneur I’ve failed. But I’ve learned enough over the last year as a freelancer to know that failures are anything but a bad thing.

In fact, failures are the best. I love failing.

I failed at getting offered a place on the Entrepreneurial Spark program because I seriously, seriously wasn’t ready for it. And I had no idea I wasn’t ready for it until I went to the interview and failed.

So it feels good to fail, because now I can take a step back and realise how much work I have left to do on Modern Street Talk. Plus, there’s a new intake for Entrepreneurial Spark in February, which means I have something to aim for.

All is good then, right? Right. Seriously, all is fantastic. Because it’s absolutely fine to fail. If you fail, you pick yourself up and go again. There is no reason to be scared of failure.

Failure is the opportunity to begin again more intelligently. — Henry Ford

Do you know what you should be scared of? Being mediocre. In my book, being mediocre is far worse than reaching for success and failing at it. At least when you fail you can say you tried.

Being mediocre is the result of ignoring the fact prolonged effort gets you to the top, even if it might take a while. If you’re not happy with what’s happening 9–5 Monday to Friday, don’t settle down in your mediocrity and moan about it. Work your ass off from 7–12 every night doing what you actually want to do. Say no to meeting your friends every weekend for a night out. Give up a holiday in the Summer.

It’ll suck for a while. You won’t have a ton of fun and people will moan at you and doubt your ability. But what’s 6–12 months of hard work compared to doing what you love for the rest of your life?

Obviously I’m not saying don’t have fun while you’re reaching for the top. Don’t burn yourself out. But make sure you understand how much work hard work actually is, because it’s a lot.

And to those of you who have friends who are working their hardest to get to where they want to be, respect how much effort they’re putting in. Don’t make them feel like shit while they’re climbing the ladder. A little bit of support goes a long way.

Catch y’all tomorrow.

Failing made me get deep, sorry. Tomorrow’s blog will be a bit more upbeat if all goes to plan. Seriously, it’s going to be a fun one. As always, remember to follow me on Twitter @EllMorrow.

--

--