Chapter 54 — What do you achieve by doing nothing?

Spoiler alert.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
3 min readJul 8, 2016

--

Today, 13:51 — FaceTime call from my sister.

I decline it.

I text and tell her she can’t just FaceTime me in the middle of the day.

In response, I get told that because I’m not at university any more, and because I don’t have a job, that I’m not doing anything, so why can’t she FaceTime me in the middle of the day?

Now, I don’t know about other people desperate to find a job as well as build their personal portfolio of digital content, but I’m never not doing anything.

Even yesterday, on a dedicated break-day that I told you all about, I still did something. I write these daily Chapters because, now that I’m done with university and don’t yet have a job, the thought of doing nothing with my days seems like an absolute waste.

I want to learn, or create, or improve, every single day of my life. There is no exception to the rule, because what do you achieve by doing nothing?

Nothing.

No one became the best person they possibly could be by doing nothing.

If you think you have nothing to do, think harder. If you’re still stumped, you’re not thinking hard enough.

Turn off Netflix, close Facebook, put your phone down and really, really think. What could you be doing that isn’t nothing?

  • Read a book.
  • Watch a TED Talk.
  • Write a blog post.
  • Research more in to that business idea you’ve had for the last six months.
  • Sharpen up your CV.
  • Meditate.
  • Build a website, or start learning how to code.
  • Learn a new recipe.
  • Listen to a podcast.
  • Go for a run.
  • Go for a walk.

I could spend years on that list, but I won’t because that’d be stupid. If you’re desperate for more ideas then drop me a tweet, I guess.

But as you can see, doing something doesn’t have to be some monumental task. You can do a lot of things from the comfort of your own bed, if you’re really desperate to stay in it.

Learn or create every day, and you’re on the right path.

Learn more. Create more. Improve more.

Go do.

Everything Else…

Just to keep you all in the loop, I’m still waiting to hear back about this job. I had everything crossed that I’d get an email today, but now my wait is going to extend over the weekend. I’m not sure I’ll survive.

Thanks for reading!

If you’re enjoying my stuff, follow the instructions in the gif below and I’ll crack a smile when I get the notification.

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter + Instagram.

--

--