How to change if you do too much at once

Less fluff, more focus.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
3 min readOct 4, 2016

--

Last week I was washing dishes. And pots. And pans.

And cutlery. Knives, forks, spoons.

I left the cutlery until last. I picked up every knife, fork and spoon I could see and dropped that collection in to the soapy water.

Then, one by one I wiped each utensil clean before placing it in the drying rack.

Then I left the kitchen. I walked to my room. I opened my Mac.

And I looked at my 18 tabs in Safari.

Medium wasn’t there; open new tab.

19 open tabs.

I scrolled down my Medium feed.

How to find suc- bookmark

The answer is- bookmark

A 2-step proc- bookmark

I tell myself I’ll read those later.

(I read two today, over a week later)

Medium gets closed. I switch to YouTube.

Eight suggested videos. They all look interesting.

Watch later. Watch later. Watch later. Watch later. Watch later. Watch later. Wa- Wait a second.

19 open tabs. Eight videos to watch. Three stories to read. Why am I trying to do so much at once? I need less fluff and more focus.

But it’s who I am. It’s what I do. Lots of content. Lots on my plate.

Less fluff, more focus.

I do too much at once. So let’s fix that. Let’s take it back.

I can’t change who I am in one brief and sweeping motion. If I want less fluff and more focus, the change needs to be gradual.

Start small. Work slowly. Be patient.

Small so, about that cutlery.

Slowly — wash one utensil at a time. A knife, then a spoon, then a knife, then a fork, then a spoon.

Patient — resist the urge to put everything in the water at once.

In the grand scheme of life, it’s a tiny change. It’s absolutely miniscule. To most people, washing cutlery is an auto-run action. It’s a boring, characterless task.

To me, it’s the catalyst for a change in habit.

Start small. Work slowly. Be patient.

Less fluff, more focus.

Hey, look at that, I’m down to 14 tabs already.

Thanks for reading Chapter 142! Remember to hit that little heart if you like my stuff. Cya tomorrow.

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter + Instagram+ Snapchat (by scanning the Snapcode).

--

--