If you’re a creative student in Manchester, embrace the city

You won’t find anywhere better.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
2 min readSep 23, 2016

--

I’ve never lived in London, so I’m a bit biased when I say this:

Manchester is the best city in the UK for young, creative minds.

To me, this isn’t an opinion, it’s a fact. It’s a fact borne out of ignorance of every other creative hub in the country, but a fact nonetheless.

I’ve been in love with Manchester for three years now. I’ve seen it thrive and grow, and I’m convinced this growth isn’t stopping any time soon.

But until 18 months ago, I didn’t know how to get my foot in the door and be a part of it all. I was just stood out in the cold, looking through frosty windows at the party inside.

Then I realised I was moaning too much.

I knew where I wanted to be, but rather than using my initiative to get there, I was sat on my arse feeling sorry for myself.

I got active.

I went to events. I met people. I made connections. I made friends. We had coffee.

I embraced Manchester.

In return, Manchester embraced me. And I fell more in love with the city I now call my home.

So get out there. Find events. Find your people. Carve a path.

The city is ready for you.

Embrace it.

--

--