I’m too honest, and today I paid for it.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
Published in
3 min readJul 29, 2016

I just filed a tax return.

Who files a tax return at 21?

I never want to file a tax return ever again.

It was my own fault really. I was too honest a year ago, thinking I had to declare every last penny to the taxman, so I declared myself self-employed. I mean I guess you legally are supposed to declare all of your earnings to HMRC, but when you’ve made a couple thousand in a year and you’re going to pay no tax, it hardly seems worth the effort.

But it’s done. It’s out of the way and this can just serve as a warning to you all: if you’re ever asked to do a self-assessment tax return, just hire someone to do it for you.

In better news, I had a meeting this morning which went fantastically well. It’s not confidential one bit, but I’ll save the details for another Chapter when the working relationship actually starts. This is different to my job at NCC by the way, this is some light freelance work for a startup based in the Entrepreneurial Spark office.

You remember Entrepreneurial Spark? Yeah, the guys who broke my fragile entrepreneur heart.

Still bitter.

I’ll spill the details of this on-the-side freelance work once I’ve double checked with NCC that they’re cool with me doing it. There’s no conflict of interest (far from it) so I’m confident everything will be Gucci.

Y’all know I’m pretty keen on working more than the standard full-time hours though, so I’ll have plenty of personal projects to discuss in these Chapters if freelancing needs to make a return to the backburner.

I think my brain is a bit mush after such a dull afternoon and evening. I have nothing more to discuss.

Cya.

Thanks for reading Chapter 75!

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter + Instagram.

Here’s your gif of the day:

--

--