Stories I’ve loved on Medium this week

18.09.16

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
3 min readSep 18, 2016

--

Like the number of videos in yesterday’s Chapter, there are only three Stories to recommend this week. But they’re all a bit deep if you really think about their meanings, so I guess the after-read thought commitment makes it a bit like I’m sharing six Stories.

Kind of.

Anyway, enjoy!

Of course Tricia and The Goodge were instantly shot on sight for their various bank till killthrills, and also for being a sub-par morning radio duo. Their gore mixed with our skin juice until it was impossible to tell where our love ended and their death began.

I don’t have many words to describe this one; onfusing, memorable and surreal are a few pieces of vocabulary which spring to mind.

But Brian Firenzi’s post was so out of left-field for me that I knew it was worth sharing the moment I finished reading.

Plus, that title is pure perfection.

We are not this body, this self-image, or these feelings. We are the maestro behind the scenes orchestrating it all, moment-to-moment. When we forget this, the maestro puts the baton down and everything gets out of whack.

Another week, another Jonas Ellison recommendation.

I wanted to share this one because it’s something I personally think a lot about. We are our brains, and our brains are us, but we see ourselves as separate entities to the organ (/muscle) in our heads.

In that case then: who actually are we?

I’m not sure the answer is important.

What’s most important is simply knowing yourself: what makes you happy, what makes you sad and what really, truly makes you tick.

He gives me a high five and then dabs. I tell him, “Emmet, you can’t dab at your grandma’s funeral dude.” He looks up at me, “Yeah you’re probably right.” Unbelievably cute kid.

Jack Coyne’s daily shorts are my new favourite obsession. This one was a super enjoyable read, and Emmet sounds adorable.

Thanks for reading Chapter 126! Check out last week’s post full of stories I loved:

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter+Instagram+ Snapchat (by scanning the Snapcode).

--

--