There’s worse things in life to worry about

Or, why the oldest generation never fails to inspire.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
2 min readOct 26, 2016

--

I wasn’t going to take the tram tonight. I was just going to do my usual and grab a bus. But I’d had a meeting and wanted to get home quicker than a bus could manage.

So I opted for the tram.

New Islington to Piccadilly.

No trams from Piccadilly straight to West Didsbury. Urgh.

I wait for a tram from Piccadilly to Deansgate/Castlefield.

Still a bit pissed at the unexpected journey time. The tram was meant to be quicker than the bus. This isn’t quicker.

I get on the tram and lean against these padded, slanted seats. I prefer to stand.

An elderly guy sits down on the normal seat to my right with a bit of a thud. He laughs at himself. Then he looks up at me.

I look down at him.

He smiles.

“Can’t sit on hardly any of these seats because there’s just loads of crap on them,” he says.

“Oh, I know,” I reply.

I didn’t really have anything else to say, so there was silence.

“To be fair though, there’s worse things in life to worry about. If that was my only worry, what a wonderful life it would be.”

What a wonderful life it would be.

We chat for a few minutes before my tram arrives at the Deansgate stop.

I shake his hand, wish him well, and step off.

Five minute wait for the Didsbury tram. No worries, I’m tapping away writing this Chapter.

If only we stopped worrying. What a wonderful life it would be.

Thanks for reading Chapter 164. Catch you all tomorrow!

Follow me on the social medias over here (@EllMorrow):

Twitter + Instagram

--

--