Videos worth watching this week

10.09.16 — #SaveTheArctic, body language and a train hopping idiot.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
3 min readSep 10, 2016

--

Not a ton to introduce here this week. Except to say that the videos go from very funny to very serious, very quickly.

All are enjoyable though, and (as always) are worth the watch.

Enjoy!

Sometimes when I feel a girl thinks I’m alright, I’ll try to see what she does when I put something between us that stops her from talking to me.

I usually just use my personality or stay at home.

If you haven’t watched Casually Explained before, you’re seriously missing out. A hilariously deadpan look at the inner workings of almost anything, the videos are like nothing else on YouTube.

This one, as per the title, focuses on body language. And boy, do a lot of people skip straight ahead to Stage Three.

I think what I like most about train hopping is that you experience and see things that so few other people do. Anyone can pay to go skydiving or buy a plane ticket and take a picture of themselves in front of Machu Picchu, but you can’t buy a tucket to go train hopping.

Perfect editing and music choice, self-depreciating humour and total ridiculousness make this one way more interesting than it has any right to be.

Just do me a favour, don’t try this at home. Or on a freight train.

My hands may have been wandering slightly. And then… I start having a spasm.

It’s not often I enjoy TV adverts nowadays — the new EE one with Kevin Bacon dressed up as Britney Spears is a prime example of why I have very little care for TV advertising anymore. But this new Maltesers ad is a special one.

Witty, relevant, different and totally unexpected. The perfect foursome.

If all of this ice melts the ocean’s going to have more water in it. So the sea level, as measured from the coasts, is going to go up. It’s going to go up 70 metres. That’s a long way people.

Can’t go wrong with a video featuring Bill Nye (The Science Guy), and this is a super serious one.

People are still pretty nonchalant over the effects of climate change, but the more content you consume around the issue, the more you realise the severity of what’s happening to our planet.

The video also semi-introduces The End of The Arctic, a mini-documentary (15 minutes) the guys at ASAPScience made after traveling to, you guessed it, The Arctic. You can watch that here.

Also also, sign this:

And saving the most worthy for last…

I love you.

And I’m done.

I’m massive on mental illness awareness. Too many people just do not understand the myriad of shit that goes on in their heads, or the heads of other people. That needs to change, and fast.

The video above is quite possibly the most powerful one-minute videos I’ve ever watched.

It addresses suicide in a way I’ve hardly seen it addressed, and stresses the the need for communication among men to lower rates of suicide.

It’s an issue. Talk about it.

Thanks for reading Chapter 118.

If you love my stuff, please consider giving it a recommend by turning the little heart green.

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter+Instagram+ Snapchat (by scanning the Snapcode).

--

--