Videos worth watching this week

03.09.16 — Current events, positivity and stuff to get you thinking.

Elliot Morrow
Elliot’s Blog
4 min readSep 3, 2016

--

Videos are everywhere on the Internet these days. They account for a stupid amount of total web traffic, they’re easily shareable, and there’s some seriously good ones out there.

I’m just like you, I watch a ton of video content. Sometimes it’s dogs on Facebook, other times it’s stunning landscapes on Instagram and heck, even Netflix falls in to the online video content category.

A lot of the time though, I’m on YouTube. And I have a lot of videos watched but not really shared with anyone.

So, I’m doing that thing again where I announce and then begin a regular post series. Saturday seems to be the best day for this, because it gives me chance to cleanse my list of saved content while I’m off work for the weekend. And also I’m simply assuming you guys are like me and have more time to watch stuff over Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Let’s get this show on the road.

I want… I want everything I’ve ever seen in the movies!

Leo, say you’ll join me.

I’ll do it!

BY GOD I’LL DO IT!

It’s safe to state with some level of confidence that, compared to most other years, 2016 has sucked pretty hard for the deaths of beloved celebrities.

It started in January when David Bowie, Alan Rickman and Terry Wogan all passed away. Then Paul Daniels, Ronnie Corbett, Victoria Wood and goddamn Prince left us too.

This week, legend of the screen Gene Wilder was added to the list.

2016 is the worst.

In this Vox video, we’re reminded of Wilder’s willingness to share the spotlight rather than take it all for himself. His comedic generosity, coupled with an ability to stand-out regardless of screen-time, elevated his co-stars and many of his films to another level entirely.

He will be missed.

The media can also affect our fear and anxiety of death from strange causes. After all not one person died of a shark attack in the US during 2014, but 38 people were killed by dogs. Many fear biking in a city, but you’re more likely to die walking as a pedestrian.

Do you ever wonder how you’ll die?

Don’t lie.

In fact, don’t even answer. I know you’re going to say yes.

Still though, how will you die? It’s probably not going to be in your sleep, peacefully and without warning (sorry to kill the dream).

It’s also probably not going to be by shark attack, or drug overdose, or plane crash. Not statistically at least.

Either way, just enjoy the damn ride.

The small minority of people that are mad and angry and hateful and dark are much louder than the big percentage of us that are happy and excited and feel great.

Everyone could learn a lot from Gary Vaynerchuk. He drops some invaluable business advice in most of his content, but it’s the life advice he gives which resonates with me most.

It helps to remember that the ultimate source of value comes from us. The needs we share, the things we enjoy and the choices we make.

This is the most food-for-thoughty video on the list this week. It’s TED related (y’all know how much I love TED) but is slightly different to what you normally see me share from the nonprofit. And shorter.

So, what do you value most in life? And why?

And saving the best for last.

Flying is obviously symbolic of being free and not burderned by something. It’s that big dream that: wow, what if we could fly? We could do anything we put our minds to. We could do anything.

This is going to be my favourite mini-section each and every week across all of my writing, I just know it.

But maybe I’m only saying that because of how heartwarming this video is. I can’t give much explanation or else I’ll spoil what makes it so brilliant, but you’re going to fall in love with the story.

Give it a watch, and let me know what you think.

That’s all for today folks! Thanks for reading Chapter 111.

If you love my stuff, please consider giving it a recommend by turning the little heart green.

Follow me on social media over here: Twitter+Instagram+ Snapchat (by scanning the Snapcode).

--

--