53 Without Me

The Reaper Steals You Away

Rayna Pummel
Modern Women
2 min readFeb 27, 2022

--

It’s difficult to find the words I need to express what I want to say, so instead I let them flow onto a page

Just the way you taught me…

Photo Credit Riley (Our Mom holding my daughter)

It hurts just as much as your first birthday away

We’re only going on 3 years without you

I say only because it feels like a decade!

So much has happened, I could have really used my mom to help me get through.

You’d be 53 today, still alive and yelling.

Still using,

But it’s my birthday!!!

To get us to do whatever you wanted.

You’d gripe that you had to cook your own dinner, but we all know only you were allowed in your kitchen.

I remember in the mornings hearing dad come home.

The first thing he’d always say was,

Well, do you feel old?

Teasing you of course, I’d listen to a few of your laughs hear him kiss you and off to bed he’d go.

I would wait for you to fall asleep and try to keep the younger kids quiet so you could sleep in.

Every time, without fail, here would come Riley and Sam’s whole parade storming through the door screaming,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

You’d again act pissed off and try to stay all grumpy, but we all know it was your favorite thing.

All your children together under your roof celebrating your day!

I miss our morning pow-wow’s on your bed planning what bills to pay.

I miss making the grocery lists and running you around on Thursday’s.

I miss the look on your face when you’d open the shoes you wanted.

And being tagged in your Facebook posts,

Look what my daughter’s bought me!!!!!

I miss you so much mom.

Happy heavenly birthday to the woman who taught me everything I know.

I am grateful you get to be with one daughter today and at least not alone!

Make sure she knows she has to do the dishes,

It is your birthday after all!!!!

Riley holding our mother’s hand on the plan to her last trip to treatment for her addictions. Photo owned by author.

In Loving Memory of My Mother 02/23/1968–06/01/2019

--

--

Rayna Pummel
Modern Women

A Recovering Addict, Mother of 2, 27 year old ♒ This is my experience, strength, and truth about my journey to untangling my mind. unscriptedwaywithwords.com