6 Safety Habits of a New Mom

Maybe it’s just me? But it feels like there is danger everywhere.

Monika Malan
Modern Women
3 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Photo by Ksenia Chernaya from Pexels

I don’t know if all new moms are like this. But I sometimes feel like an undercover spy when I enter a new room with my little one.

I immediately note all exits. All the fragile items jump out at me. “Watch me!” they say. “I’m ready and willing to break at the drop of a hat!”

The open plug sockets seem to scream at me.

Maybe’s it’s because I’m risk-averse by nature? I also suffer from anxiety.

I guess when you add all the ingredients to the mix — new mom, risk-averse, and anxiety — you end up with one super paranoid mom.

Horror stories abound of babies and toddlers getting injured or dying for (seemingly) silly reasons.

Before I became a mom, I would hear of these tales and wonder to myself: “How did they let this happen?”.

The reality is, there are so many things you need to keep an eye on, it’s easy to overlook something. Plus, let’s not forget that most moms of babies and toddlers are severely sleep-deprived.

Speaking from first-hand experience, sleep deprivation can make you forgetful and cause a lack of attention to detail.

So, even in my own home, there are things I check daily to make sure my son will be ok and live to a ripe old age (or at least teenage years, lol!).

Swimming Pool Cover

Every time I walk past the pool, I check to ensure the cover is on correctly. Too many little ones drown regularly, and it’s so tragic.

Fragile Items

I make sure that any cupboards or shelves within my son’s reach do not have any fragile items.

Kiddy Locks

I have kiddy locks on the cupboard under our sink containing our cleaning products. I use natural products, so my son shouldn’t come to a lot of harm if he were to ingest it. But even so, it’s probably not a good idea for him to chug it.

Plug Covers

I have plug covers for every open socket. But, I’ll admit, it took me a while to find them all.

Doors

I keep doors closed, especially doors to the outside. This one can get exhausting as not everyone (cough, my husband, cough) closes doors behind them.

But I like to know roughly in what area my son is. He’s gotten so quick, I can turn my back for a few seconds, and he’ll be gone.

At least when the doors are closed, I know where to search for him. Also, there are dangers outside, such as the swimming pool and the driveway where cars come and go. Outside is not a place for a toddler to be playing unsupervised.

Stairs

In new places, I also check for stairs. Although my son can climb stairs reasonably well now, so it’s not such a hazard any longer.

I’m sure I’ve forgotten to mention things because they are likely such a part of my life I don’t even notice I do them anymore!

What habits have you developed for the safety of your baby?

I’m making it my mission to help new moms transition to motherhood. If you are interested in new mom support, tips and insights, join my Facebook Group!

--

--