Career

6 Things I Learned After 6 Years Working in Corporate America

From speaking up to advocating for others, Corporate America is a game that you need to know how to play it right to be successful

Mariana Carvalho
Modern Women
Published in
6 min readApr 11, 2023

--

Use the Friend Link to read this story, if you are not a Medium member.

Photo by Sean Pollock on Unsplash

After 6 years of working in technology in Corporate America, I decided to resign and write a new chapter of my professional journey.

The decision to leave the corporate world was not an easy one. I had been marinating the idea since last November when I was burnout.

I thought about my priorities and planned myself financially, and I decided it was time.

Today’s article comes from a reflection on recent years. Looking back. Reflections of situations and examples that happened to my mentees and myself.

Six years of being immersed in a unique and interesting corporate culture.

📌 Your work will not sell for itself

When I entered the US job market, I didn’t realize the importance of talking about my accomplishments. Of being my own advocate. I thought my work would speak for itself.

--

--

Mariana Carvalho
Modern Women

Writer, researcher. Latino 30 Under 30. Sharing my experience along the way • Connect https://www.linkedin.com/in/mari/