A Relationship That Helped Me Grow: My Previous Teacher’s Lesson

When knowledge knows no bound

Avrantsa's Note
Modern Women
4 min readAug 16, 2022

--

Photo by Taylor Wilcox on Unsplash

When we were first born into the world. We got our first teachers. Those are our parents. From them, we learned how to smile, walk, and read. They were the first ones who taught us everything about this world with patience, love, and kindness.

Years pass and we grow older. We enter kindergarten and get another teacher. Still, that continues, when we are in elementary school, middle school, high school, and even university.

There was a time when I thought that I become like I am now because I taught myself how to. I was so arrogant, thinking that I did it all by myself.

It’s not true at all.

Thinking about it now, I have received numerous help from a lot of teachers. I couldn’t remember most of their faces. There are so many of them.

Music teachers, math teachers, science teachers, physic education teachers, and still many more.

Have you ever counted how many teachers you met in your life?

When I was still a student. I was a rascal. I slept throughout the class, always made a joke during class, and didn’t do my homework. I was not a model student in my class. For the record, I only learned seriously when it was in the corner of the examination season. There was even a time I almost couldn’t pass 3rd-grade elementary school because my daily score was so bad. Magically, I still passed the class because my final exam grade support my overall report score.

The person who became my homeroom teacher always said to my parents that I am a bright student but extremely lazy. The teachers didn’t like me because I was a bit slow catching the materials, had difficulty focusing in class, and always playing around in class. I was labeled as a naughty kid by the teachers, and so I never really liked teachers when I was young.

However, when I was in middle school, I met a teacher who was great at teaching math. I was, at that time, still a rascal, who liked to joke around during class. Surprisingly, he was patient with me. He just thought I was a funny kid, and then reminded me if I got too loud.

He was extremely great at teaching math that when I was in middle school I always got 90/100 on my report card for Math.

This was the first time, I had huge respect for a teacher. And so after that, I became serious about my study and treated the teachers rightfully. He often gave me advice to be a good student. That worked. I didn’t know when or how, but one day, I decided to be a good student because of him, and I did.

When he passed away, many of his students came to visit his funeral. There were thousands of people at the funeral showing that his passing left a huge loss for many people. He was a good person. So, I was not surprised when many people prayed so that he can rest in peace.

I used to think that I was stupid in Math, however, I still remember the words he said to me the first time he taught me Math. His words changed my whole world forever:

“There is no stupid student, high chance, she probably hasn’t met the right teacher that could help her.”

It got engraved in my heart. It left a strong impression on me. From that moment on, I never think that I am stupid anymore. I was just merely a student who is learning.

My legendary teacher. My role model. He is no longer in this world. Yet I still use all the knowledge that he gave me in middle school. His knowledge knows no bound.

Thank you.

And I also want to thank all my teachers and lecturers who educated me to become a whole person.

Without all of you, I wouldn’t be like I am now. And I am sorry for being a rascal when I was young.

Avrantsa is a 20s lady who recently started writing on Medium. Currently. she still exploring different niches in her writings. Her hobbies include reading books (fiction and non-fiction), watching Korean drama and movies, playing guitar, editing videos, and cooking.

You can support her by following her and giving honest and genuine feedback on her stories.

--

--